Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ethernet Adapter
lintondoza
post Jul 24 2005, 12:58 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-July 05
Member No.: 5,318



Hello, I am a windows user trying to cross over to Redhat. I've successfully installed Redhat and am able to run it dual-boot, but cannot connect to the internet because I'm having trouble configuring the adapter in Linux. The ethernet is intergrated into the motherboard, and according to the windows driver list, it's a broadcom. What I need to know is, is there a way to configure that onboard nic to work in linux, or will I need to buy a Pci one that is Linux friendly?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jul 24 2005, 09:39 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Need more information.
What is the make / model of your PC motherboard or manufacture?
What is the ouput of the console command:
lspci

Does window list a model number?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lintondoza
post Jul 24 2005, 12:41 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-July 05
Member No.: 5,318



broadcom 440x 10/100 integrated controller is what windows lists it as.
the computer is a dell 2400, so that's why I'm doubting I can use the integrated one.
i'm not in the shell, I'm in one of the guis, I think kde, and upon trying to add the device, it's not listed. And that's what I'm worried about, I don't want one I buy to be unlisted also.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jul 24 2005, 06:27 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



This might work:
http://members.driverguide.com/driver/deta...driverid=359264

Even if you are running a GUI you can still run console commands. On the task bar there should be an icon that looks like a monitor. This will start a x terminal window where you can enter console commands.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matt
post Jul 27 2005, 12:21 PM
Post #5


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 8-April 05
From: St John's Newfoundland
Member No.: 4,844



I had problems with my server with my onboard realtech. For some reasons onboard NIC's can be a pain. Every time I booted, my nic wouldn't gain an IP from dhcp on my router. I would have to type ifconfig eth0 up for it to work and give it an ip myself and even then it was a pain. I'm using my offboard now perfect for the net. But the onboard does work with a static ip to communicate with my backup server. Weird. Anyway, when you boot try typing ifconfig in a terminal see if it shows any other nics besides the loopback.


--------------------
INTEL Q6600 Quad Core @2.8
Evga Geforce 8800GT SSC Ed 512
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Deluxe
4G DDR2 - 1 750 Gig HDS
Distro - Slackware-Current / KDE4 / Window Xp MC
---------------------------------------
Distro - Slackware 12 MythTV Box
AMD Athlon 64 3500+
1024 Megs of DDR400
200G HD
Nvidia 8400 GT
Leadtech Winfast TV2000 Tuner
Antec NSK2480 Media Center Case
--------------------------------------
Linux User #384299
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lintondoza
post Aug 6 2005, 06:10 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-July 05
Member No.: 5,318



alrighty, here's what's up. I'm following the directions in the readme, and when i use the rpm command: rpm -ivh <path> the terminal returns something to the tune of cannot create sourcedir: /usr/src/REDHAT/sources. I tried in the file browser to manually create the two folders, usr and src are already there, but the file browser will not allow me to create them.
any solutions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaxielax
post Aug 11 2005, 05:00 AM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 11-August 05
Member No.: 5,388



I am having EXACTLY the same problem, i follow the readme instructions and get :
error: cannot create %sourcedir /usr/src/redhat/SOURCES
someone please please help atm if i want to put anything on my laptop i have to burn it to a cd, i cant sort out the audio and display drivers till this is sorted sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lintondoza
post Aug 13 2005, 12:42 AM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-July 05
Member No.: 5,318



I'm bumping this thread. The user above me has the proper error message. Any fix?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Aug 13 2005, 04:33 AM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



You MUST be logged in as the root user. If it still cant create directories, then something else is broken. To get root privileges from a normaly console, just type "su -" and enter your root password.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 04:36 AM