Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem Adding A Samba Printer
linus-who?
post Jul 19 2005, 02:54 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 5,298

Hello,
I am new to Linux. I have experience with SCO Unixware, so for the most part Linux is not totally foreign to me, but I have LOTS to learn about it. I configured my first install on Red Hat AS 3 recently (with the assistent of my senior engineer that is) and we are now having problems configuring printers from the printing gui in System Settings -> Printing.

Here is what is happening:
in the print configuration screen, i choose new. then i specify a name for the printer (prt04). No problems there. choose next. then i must select a que type, in which i choose SMB (this printer is tied to a windows box - pc31 and shared as prt04). then i click specify to give it the share info. I can't get past this screen. No error messages appear basically i enter the following info and no matter what i do i will not leave this screen:
workgroup = <blank>
server = pc31
share = prt04
username = guest
password = password

here is the kicker....i know that this information is correct because i have another redhat box that is on the same network segment and i can successfully add and print to to this exact same shared printer, and it is configured in exactly this same way.

the only differences that i have found between the 2 server's is the version of smbclient.
the server that is working has version 3.0.9-1.3E2
the server that is not working has versino 3.0.0-14.3E

Here is another weird thing. i read on the official samba sight that i can test the smbclient program by running the command: smbclient -L pc31