Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Java In Linux
qBANG
post Jul 3 2005, 08:28 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-July 05
Member No.: 5,209



I am a 100% total n00b to this forum, I picked up a version of Mandrake (now "Mandriva") a long time ago and tried to learn it. I'm still in high school, where they use Windows XP Pro, so I don't boot Linux often. After taking a Java Programming class (Because I wanted to take the AP Exam), I was like "Hey, why not try my final project in Linux? I hadn't ever tried any Java in Linux. My server program worked fine, no problems. As soon as I opened the client, the JOptionPane.showInputDialog opened, asking for the IP as it should. However, there was no box to enter the IP address of the server in, is this a problem with Linux, or is it because I coded it in Windows to work with Windows? Any help is greatly appreciated. A link to a Mandrake Java compiler would be nice too.

thanks,
qBANG
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jul 3 2005, 10:59 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Provided you are using official Java runtime environments from Sun, then java programs should run axactly the same on any platform.

I think the offical Java development kit (JDK) is available for Linux (having said that, I cant find any version of it on the sun website...)

How did you install java?

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
qBANG
post Jul 3 2005, 12:04 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-July 05
Member No.: 5,209



I installed the Java JDK in Windows, coded and compiled it using Windows, and then I put it on a ThumbDrive, booted Mandrake, and tried it out there. As far as I know, Mandrake comes bundled with some form of java, because I didn't install it, and when I typed "java" in the konsole, it gave me a list of arguements. I followed it like it said to, and then my showInputDialog showed up, but it was more like a showMessageDialog . I'll probably just recode it and add in a new class file to the program to create a login screen if I can't figure it out.

Thanks for checking though.

qBANG
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jul 3 2005, 04:08 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Is it a boxed version (ie bought from mandrakestore or a supplier)? The download edition doesnt come with Java etc. Try downloading a newer version of java from www.java.com (install instructions can be found at: http://www.goland.org/Installing_Java_in_Mandrake_9_1/

You should be able to uninstall the old version using the package manager in the control centre.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
qBANG
post Jul 3 2005, 04:55 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-July 05
Member No.: 5,209



Thanks for your help man, I did download a version of Mandrake off the site, but the program did run for some reason, I'll try that and get back to you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th November 2017 - 12:55 AM