Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rh 9.0 Can Boot From Floppy, But Not From Hd, System will not recognize GRUB or LILO
uga.jlg
post Jun 13 2005, 08:32 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-June 05
Member No.: 5,117



i have redhat 9.0 as the lone operating system on my computer. its an older HP (800mhz,256 MB, 30GB HD) it can boot from a floppy disk, but i want it to boot from the HD. i had GRUB selected to install during the initial installation, i've tried re-installing it through both the shell and the linux rescue on the install CD, but everytime the computer boots up w/o the floppy i get a "Operating System not found" message in the top left corner. i've ran the linux rescue installing LILO also and installed it from the shell, and i get the same message. i changed the Operating System setting in the BIOS from Win98 to Other, but this had no effect. any help? thank you.

uga.jlg@gmail.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 13 2005, 12:56 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Where are you installing the grub, MBR or the boot partition?

Boot using the install CD and select rescue mode.
Enter the commands:
chroot /mnt/sysimage
grub-install /dev/hda ( replace hda with your actual HDD device)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uga.jlg
post Jun 13 2005, 05:18 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-June 05
Member No.: 5,117



thanks for the response. i've tried to install to MBR, but i have tried both. i did what you suggested and and ran linux rescue mode. i got a message saying chroot /mnt/sysimage was entered, so i entered the grub-install /dev/hda line. i then got a line that read: /dev/hda does not have any corresponding BIOS drive.

any more ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 13 2005, 05:57 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



So post the hardware specs? Are you using regular IDE, SATA, SCSI etc..?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uga.jlg
post Jun 13 2005, 06:34 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-June 05
Member No.: 5,117



regular 30GB IDE, 800mhz, 256MB.... i tried grub-install /dev/hdb and grub-install was happy with that, but it didnt fix the problem. the /boot/grub/device.map file looks like:

(fd0) /dev/fd0
(hd0) /dev/hdb
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uga.jlg
post Jun 13 2005, 06:48 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-June 05
Member No.: 5,117



scratch that, i apologize, i forgot what computer i was working on. its an ATA, here are the specs. its the 30 gig one.
http://perso.wanadoo.fr/rayp/HD/QUANTUM/sp...lct20_specs.htm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 13 2005, 09:33 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Can you post your grub.conf file?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uga.jlg
post Jun 14 2005, 05:15 AM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-June 05
Member No.: 5,117



# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hdb2
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hdb
default=0
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Red Hat Linux (2.4.20-31.9)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.20-31.9 ro root=LABEL=/ hdc=ide-scsi
initrd /initrd-2.4.20-31.9.img
title Red Hat Linux (2.4.20-8)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.20-8 ro root=LABEL=/ hdc=ide-scsi
initrd /initrd-2.4.20-8.img
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uga.jlg
post Jun 14 2005, 05:47 AM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-June 05
Member No.: 5,117



i dont know if this will help...

[root@localhost root]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hdb: 30.0 GB, 30020272128 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3649 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/hdb2 14 3584 28684057+ 83 Linux
/dev/hdb3 3585 3649 522112+ 82 Linux swap
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uga.jlg
post Jun 15 2005, 06:16 AM
Post #10


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-June 05
Member No.: 5,117



alright... after looking over everything i noticed that the HD jumper wasn't in the Master location. it was in the factory default. i changed it and put the install CD in like i was going to reinstall linux altogether, and when i got to the boot loader/partition screen, it wouldnt let me make the hdb2 partition bigger than 2 GBs, so i couldnt have reinstalled if i had wanted to. i put the jumper back in the original spot and it was fine (or back to the previous problem).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 03:37 PM