Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rh9 Localhost Access, Cant access localhost
cjseyfried
post Jun 12 2005, 05:40 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-June 05
Member No.: 5,113



I have a working install of RH9 and have been running Apache Xampp and other server apps, Webmin, etc. I had Verison DSL as my DSL isp and everything worked fine.

I recently switched to Earthlink DSL. Everything works fine, EXCEPT that I Now CAN not access any of my server apps., Apache Xampp, etc. I get a "localhost not found" message.

Even the setup address for the earthlink modem is not reachable - http://172.16.0.254/setup.html

I can not firgure out any reason, everything else is the same ? Earthlink does not support Linux so I can not get assistance from them.

Can anyone Help ?

Curtis Seyfried
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jun 12 2005, 09:32 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Just add the line "127.0.0.1 localhost" to /etc/hosts (without the quotes). If it's already there, of if it still doesnt work, then maybe something else is wrong, but that should do the trick.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cjseyfried
post Jun 13 2005, 01:45 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-June 05
Member No.: 5,113



Thank you for your advice. This line was already there. I deleted it and re-entered it and saved the file. This changed nothing. I even went into hosts.allow and added the same line, no change.

When I try to lets say access Webmin http://localhost:10000/ I get a "resolving localhost" in the status bar at the bottom of my browser, then a "connwcting to localhost," but nothing else and it just hangs there.

The same thing if I try to access Apache Xampp, http://localhost:8080
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 13 2005, 05:03 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Can you ping 127.0.0.1 and localhost?
Are you sure all of the servers are still running?
Does ifconfig show a valid lo and IP address?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cjseyfried
post Jun 14 2005, 04:06 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-June 05
Member No.: 5,113



pinging 127.0.0.1 works fine.

pinging localhost gives no results

ifconfig shows eth0 and ppp0 exist with a bunch of stats for each.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jun 14 2005, 04:13 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Can you conect to 127.0.0.1:10000 or http://127.0.0.1 ?


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cjseyfried
post Jun 14 2005, 05:30 AM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-June 05
Member No.: 5,113



No, I tried that after seeing that it could be pinged. This is very strange, I have never had this happen. It all started when I configured EarthLink DSL, everything else works fine.

The only changes were the switch from Verizon to Earthlink, which is when this started, then I switched modems, with no changes. I can't see how a different DSL ISP could affect my localhost.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jun 14 2005, 05:46 AM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Try running "netstat -ltp" to see whether the services are actually running, and which interfaces they are running on.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 11:18 PM