Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Graphical Login?, it's not graphical anymore...
gr3gg0r
post May 24 2005, 04:21 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-May 05
Member No.: 5,017



When i first installed Mandirivia linux, the login was the graphical type with options to start in kde or gnome and a few others. Also, when i would logout, it gave me more options than just logout or cancel, things like reboot, and some others i can't think of right now (and i haven't seen it in a while). Now when i start up, it gives me command prompt only so i have to login in, then startx to get to kde. My question is, how do i get it back to the graphical version? Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rathish
post May 24 2005, 05:35 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 4-April 05
Member No.: 4,822



Hi,
By any chance, have you changed the default login to text mode? If yes then you may need to change it back to graphical mode.
just try to check the default login mode under the inittab file and see what is the default login mode.

When you do startx the xclient is run from the terminal itself. That is why that you are returning back to the terminal itself after you log out.

bye,
Rathish.K
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gr3gg0r
post May 24 2005, 10:42 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-May 05
Member No.: 5,017



Here is my inittab, i don't really know what i'm looking for....

CODE
#
# inittab       This file describes how the INIT process should set up
#               the system in a certain run-level.
#
# Author:       Miquel van Smoorenburg, <miquels@drinkel.nl.mugnet.org>
#               Modified for RHS Linux by Marc Ewing and Donnie Barnes
#

# Default runlevel. The runlevels used by Mandrakelinux are:
#   0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
#   1 - Single user mode
#   2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
#   3 - Full multiuser mode
#   4 - unused
#   5 - X11
#   6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
#
id:3:initdefault:

# System initialization.
si::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

l0:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 0
l1:1:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 6

# Trap CTRL-ALT-DELETE
ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now

# When our UPS tells us power has failed, assume we have a few minutes
# of power left.  Schedule a shutdown for 2 minutes from now.
# This does, of course, assume you have powerd installed and your
# UPS connected and working correctly.  
pf::powerfail:/sbin/shutdown -f -h +2 "Power Failure; System Shutting Down"

# If power was restored before the shutdown kicked in, cancel it.
pr:12345:powerokwait:/sbin/shutdown -c "Power Restored; Shutdown Cancelled"


# Run gettys in standard runlevels
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

# FaxGetty Entry



I'm not sure what to change here. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rathish
post May 24 2005, 10:55 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 4-April 05
Member No.: 4,822



hi,
According to the details you provided, just have a look at the last line here :-
=======================================================================
=======================================================================
# Default runlevel. The runlevels used by Mandrakelinux are:
# 0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
# 1 - Single user mode
# 2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
# 3 - Full multiuser mode
# 4 - unused
# 5 - X11
# 6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
#
id:3:initdefault:
=======================================================================
=======================================================================

just change the "id:3:initdefault: " to "id:5:initdefault:" and that will do the trick :-) !!!


In the current case the computer is booting to init 3( text mode), if you change this to 5 then it will start booting to graphical mode.

Regards,
Rathish.K
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gr3gg0r
post May 24 2005, 11:21 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-May 05
Member No.: 5,017



actually, being a noob to linux, i changed that to 3, it was originally 5 when i had the problem. 3 still obviously gave me the problem, but i'll switch it back and see if it helps, and i'll post here what i find out. Thanks!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rathish
post May 24 2005, 11:34 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 4-April 05
Member No.: 4,822



hi,
Iam sure that it will fix the problem :-)

bye
Rathish.K
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gr3gg0r
post May 25 2005, 12:50 AM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-May 05
Member No.: 5,017



sorry to say it, but it didn't fix it. Still get the command line when i start up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rathish
post May 25 2005, 01:03 AM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 4-April 05
Member No.: 4,822



hi,
did u have a look at the inittab file? Do you see that the default login is graphical (ie.. 5)? If the computer is booting on to the terminal try to run the command " init 5 ". That will boot the system to the graphical mode(for the current session only !!!) . Just try this....

regards,
Rathish.K
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post May 25 2005, 05:45 AM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



What happens when you run "startx" once logged in? Post any errors/warnings here

Also, can you give a list of all the files in /etc/rc5.d

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gr3gg0r
post May 25 2005, 12:57 PM
Post #10


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 20-May 05
Member No.: 5,017



[quote] What happens when you run "startx" once logged in? Post any errors/warnings here[/quote]

There are no errors or warnings

[quote]Also, can you give a list of all the files in /etc/rc5.d[/quote]

K35vncserver
K55routed
K59dund
K59hidd
K59pand
S01udev
S03iptables
S05harddrake
S08ipvsadm
S10network
S10shorewall
S11mysqld
S11portmap
S12syslog
S13partmon
S14hplip
S14nfslock
S15cups
S17alsa
S18sound
S20xfs
S24messagebus
S25bluetooth
S25haldaemon
S25netfs
S29numlock
@30dm
S31upsmon
S22nifd
S34mDNSResponder
S40atd
S45autofs
S55sshd
S56rawdevices
S56xinetd
S60nfs
S75keytable
S80postfix
S80prelude-manager
S81winbind
S85proftpd
S90crond
S90squid
S91smb
S92httpd
S92lisa
S95kheader
S98mailman
S99local


[quote] did u have a look at the inittab file? Do you see that the default login is graphical (ie.. 5)?[/quote]

Yes, it is 5

[quote]If the computer is booting on to the terminal try to run the command " init 5 ". That will boot the system to the graphical mode(for the current session only !!!) . Just try this....[/quote]

This gave me an error somewhere along the lines of init command not found. Could this be the problem?? Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 11:04 AM