Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New To Making Fstab Config
docmur
post Apr 30 2005, 09:11 PM
Post #1


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



Hello again

I'm kind of new to installing gentoo but this question is not a basic question. My computer has to drives a DVD drive master and a CD-R drive slave. when installing gentoo I knew I had to add a line to my fstab that read /dev/cdroms /cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom.

The problem is I want both drives to be set up how would I edited this file so I can use both my drives?

Thanks DOCMUR


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post May 1 2005, 03:28 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Just add a line for each drive. eg /dev/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom and /dev/cdrom1 /mnt/cdrom1

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post May 1 2005, 04:55 AM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



I don't think it is even required to do manual editing of the file /etc/fstab for using CD-drives.

The entry should be there by default!! Pls post the contents of your /etc/fstab file for further help.


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post May 2 2005, 03:06 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



I seem to remeber my Gentoo fstab only came with one CD-Rom (but since my server only has 1 cd-rom drive, it wasnt an issue).

This is the fstab file from a box with 2 cdroms (well, a dvd-rom and a dvd-rw)

QUOTE
/dev/hda7 / ext3 defaults 1 1
10.0.0.1:/home /home nfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom auto umask=0,user,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850,noauto,ro,exec,users 0 0
/dev/hdd /mnt/cdrom2 auto umask=0,user,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850,noauto,ro,exec,users 0 0

10.0.0.1:/mnt/resources /mnt/resources nfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hda1 /mnt/win_c vfat umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
/dev/hda5 /mnt/win_d vfat umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
10.0.0.1:/mnt/www /mnt/www nfs defaults 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hda6 /usr ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/hda8 swap swap defaults 0 0


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post May 2 2005, 05:36 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Yeah, every time i installed Gentoo, it only came with one entry for a cdrom, and i had to add my burner on the next line like DS2K3 has above.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 03:10 AM