Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Second Hd(ata) Not Detected
Timtro
post Apr 25 2005, 08:01 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-April 05
Member No.: 4,920



Hi All. First time caller, long time listner smile.gif

I have an Asus P4PE ( which has built in fastrack controller). My primary HDD is an SATA WD 200Gb. This works fine. Today, I decided to reformat evrything, and redo may partitions (take some space away from windows). When I did this, I installed a second HDD (a WD 120Gb ATA).

For my RAID arrays, I defined my first array (bootable) to be the SATA, and a second array with the ATA, which I will use for simple storage, which both Windows and Linux will be able to read/write to.

I installed both FC3 and Windows XP just fine. i noticed that Windows would allow me format/install to the 120Gb drive on ATA, as well as my bootable 200Gb SATA. And more over, I used Partition Magic 8.0 to format the new HDD with NTFS (although it happened suspiciously fast), which at least tells me that Windows can see it. And it also now comes up under My Computer in windows.

I'm somewhat of a noob in linux, so i'm probably missing something quite obvious.

I can't find anything in /dev/ when I find *da*

In advance, I would like to thank you profusely for responding, or even reading my post. Have a nice day!

------------------------------------------------------------------
relevant data:

/sbin/fdisk -l, I get
CODE
Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

  Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1       15298   122881153+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2           15299       24158    71167950   83  Linux
/dev/sda3           24159       24321     1309297+  82  Linux swap


dmesg | grep hd yields
CODE
   ide0: BM-DMA at 0xf000-0xf007, BIOS settings: hda: pio, hdb: pio
   ide1: BM-DMA at 0xf008-0xf00f, BIOS settings: hdc: DMA, hdd: DMA
hdc: TDK CDRW5200B, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hdd: TDK DVDRW0404N, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hdc: ATAPI 48X CD-ROM CD-R/RW drive, 2048kB Cache, UDMA(33)
hdd: ATAPI 40X DVD-ROM DVD-R CD-R/RW drive, 2048kB Cache, UDMA(33)
SCSI device sda: 390721968 512-byte hdwr sectors (200050 MB)
SCSI device sda: 390721968 512-byte hdwr sectors (200050 MB)
cdrom: hdc: mrw address space DMA selected
SELinux: initialized (dev hdc, type iso9660), uses genfs_contexts
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 25 2005, 11:04 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



An interesting situation yes, obviously your ATA drive isn't showing up.

Let me just clear up a few things here. Your SATA drive (the primary 200GB) is plugged into the onboard SATA controller right? And then the 120GB is plugged into the onboard IDE correct?

Is there anything /dev/h* or /dev/s* ?

In general, linux some times has problems with RAID so this make take a little work to hash out, but its odd because you had the "raid" working before and now its the primary controllers that are giving you flack.

Um, So your windows partitions are now on the 120?

Ok, well answer those questions and I will keep thinking about it.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Timtro
post Apr 26 2005, 02:17 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-April 05
Member No.: 4,920



Both Operating systems are on the 200GB SATA, which has been working for some time. It is connected to the on board RAID controller via the SATA connector located directly below the battery (To the left of the battery in the picture)

The ATA HDD is not connected to either the primary nor secondary IDE. There is a third ribbon connector for the RAID controller located extreme right (Or the way the picture is oriented, extreme bottom of the board) that odly connects parallel to the board.

Should I try puting it in the standard IDE? Will it run the ATA properly, or will it reduce the speed to standard IDE?

P.S.

Nothing in /dev using the search parameters you gave me.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.asus.com/products/mb/socket478/...p4pe/p4pe_l.jpg

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 02:39 AM