Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Knoppix 3.8.1 Freezes At Boot, Stops at "DHCP broadcasting for IP."
Annorax
post Apr 25 2005, 03:35 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Westfield, MA
Member No.: 4,918



I am new to Linux, so I might ask some newbie questions, please bear with me.

I am running XP Pro with Virtual PC 2004. I had an old version of Knoppix: 3.7, which I used and ran Knoppix fine, even with internet. But now I am trying v3.8.1 and at this point in the bootup:

Network device eht0 detected, DHCP broadcasting for IP.

it freezes. Does anyone know what is the problem?

v3.7 works, but 3.8.1 doesn't....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Apr 26 2005, 06:53 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Strange.

They might have added an 'upgraded' module for your NIC, which causes some problems.

Is there a reason why you can't just use the old live CD?


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Annorax
post Apr 26 2005, 09:00 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Westfield, MA
Member No.: 4,918



I kind of wanted to use the newest version and not be stuck in an older version, but if that's all that will work then I guess I'm stuck with it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Apr 26 2005, 10:36 AM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Put in the old one, and 'lsmod'. Save the output to your email, or something.

Now put in the new one, and when it stalls, press control + c, or control + d (usually it freezes when trying to aquire an IP /w DHCP). This should stop it, and you *should* be able to get into Knoppix (just without the internet).

See if you're able to use 'dhcpcd' or 'dhclient' at that point, for it to work. lsmod again, and check it against your first lsmod.

Also, you might want to post this as a bug on the Knoppix forums.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Annorax
post Apr 26 2005, 07:01 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Westfield, MA
Member No.: 4,918



Like I said, I am new to Linux. What is lsmod?

I tried CTRL-D and CTRL-C at the boot, but 3.8.1 still freezes at startup. One of my friends said it might be driver problems with the new v2.6 kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AylaAsperger
post Apr 27 2005, 11:49 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 27-April 05
Member No.: 4,930



I am also new to linux, and I have this problems with both 3.6 and 3.7..... Either ctrl+c and ctrl+d won't work. Is there anything else I can do?

Ayla Asperger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Annorax
post Apr 28 2005, 10:10 AM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Westfield, MA
Member No.: 4,918



Does anyone have any thoughts? I really want to try the new version of Knoppix and even hard drive install it if I can, but the darn thing doesn't boot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Annorax
post Apr 30 2005, 10:21 AM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Westfield, MA
Member No.: 4,918



Well I guess I'm out of luck. Bye Linux
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Apr 30 2005, 12:24 PM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Sorry, but 11 minutes is really not long enough to get a reply.

I ahvent used knoppix, but a lot of distros let you press "i" at some point during boot to enter interactive mode. That way you can choose which tihngs you want to start. Just say yes to everything but DHCP.

Failing that, you could try a different distribution. Ubuntu Linux is avilable as a live CD, and you can actually order a proper copy of it for free.

No sense in giving up.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Annorax
post Apr 30 2005, 02:45 PM
Post #10


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Westfield, MA
Member No.: 4,918



11 minutes? Try 2 days, look closer.

I must have asked for help on half a dozen other Linux forums, this is the only place I got a reply, but sadly nothing works. I'll try the i command.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Apr 30 2005, 04:50 PM
Post #11


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



aaaaaaah - Sorry


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 02:26 AM