Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> Running Vb On Cross Over
docmur
post Apr 19 2005, 09:17 AM
Post #1


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



If I run VB on crossover when i use the API calls in VB will it call commands from the linux kernel?


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
chrisw
post Apr 29 2005, 09:20 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



im not sure. but i doubt it


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Apr 29 2005, 09:26 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



I think it can use native Win32 DLLs if they are installed (I know Wine can [supposedly]) - But I think API calls are jsut intercepte and translated, so I guess they could be said to call commands fromt he kernel, but in relaity it is calling them from something else, which just passes them on.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post May 8 2005, 08:33 AM
Post #4


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



If I did install VB and used API calls then turned it into a exe and brought it to school will it still work


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post May 8 2005, 08:40 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Maybe. Cant you just isntall it on Windows?

It really is like like trying to put a saddle on a cat.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th October 2017 - 11:15 PM