Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linuxebda Is Big..... Whoops, Ubuntu 4.10, Kernel 2.8.6, on laptop
drchatty
post Apr 17 2005, 10:47 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 1-April 05
Member No.: 4,811



I had access to a cable modem and installed a lot of packages. I also tried upgrading to hoary, but the server semed to be down.

When I tried to restart, I got:

LILO 22.5.9 Loading
LinuxEBDA is big; kernel setup stack overlaps LILO second storage

It stops there since it can't start the kernel.

I tried using the Live CD to recover my files, but nothing seemed to want to work, even the games. I tried reinstalling the kernel with the Install CD, but it says there is a problem on my root partition and won't let me get passed it.

Is there something simple I can do to get it working again? I just got my winmodem working and everything...

Matt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 17 2005, 08:00 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Hummm, lets see. I doubt there is anything simple, but we can try. How is your drive formatted? Do you have different partitions for different directories? Aslo, what format are your partitions in.

In general, the obvious thing is that either your kernel is bad, or the partition you kernel is on is bad, one of the two.

What suprises me is that the live CD wont let you do anything. Which liveCD distro where you using?

If you give me this information I may or may not be able to help you, but we will give it a shot.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drchatty
post Apr 17 2005, 08:07 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 1-April 05
Member No.: 4,811



I'm using Ubuntu 4.10 for both the install and live CDs. I have two partitions: My root partition, which is ext3, and my swap partition.

I tried to reinstall the kernel, but the install CD wants to change/format the partitions first.

Matt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 18 2005, 01:22 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



As far as data recovery goes, try knoppix which is another live CD to get up and see about getting your data off.

Is there any extra room on the hard drive? It might be possible to create a partition, very small, maybe 64MB to install a kernel to, then boot from that kernel instead. If this is an option, let me know and I will tell you how to do it. But try knoppix for grabbing your files.

In the future, its always smart to break up your drive a little. Specifically your /home folder, and optionally your /boot folder. This way, you are able to re-format specific parts if trouble occurs. Having your /boot on a different partition serves as a nice way to seperate it from the core by not mounting the partition after boot. Ounce your kernel is booted, it doesn't need to be accessed. Putting it on an unmounted partition is like quarenteen. But these are a little to late to help you.

Let me know how knoppix goes and if you have any extra space.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drchatty
post Apr 18 2005, 10:14 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 1-April 05
Member No.: 4,811



Thankfully, I already had Knoppix. Didn't help much, though, as it's an older verison so I can't get the zip drive, cd burner, or network connection (through a router) to work.

I have plenty of room on my hard drive for another partition or five.

Matt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 01:00 PM