Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Winmodem, modem will not initialize
mukiduk
post Apr 16 2005, 01:33 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-August 04
Member No.: 3,574



I have a Disk Smith winmodem (536EP). It shows up in the hardware list as "unknown/others", using the mandrake 9.1 control centre. I have installed the drivers from the CD that came with the modem, I think. How do I find where the modem has been installed and how do I make it work?? How can I find out which port it uses. I am new to linux so I do not understand it very will so will need real basic advise. Thank you, Allanjava script:emoticon(':(')
smilie
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Apr 18 2005, 04:07 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,796
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Did you install the driver for your OS version? From doing a little research I believe the module is called
Intel536. Look at the output of the console command lsmod to see if it is loading. If it is you probably have a device /dev/536ep. Also check to see if you have a /dev/modem and if it is linked to the 536ep device.

I've do not have any actual experience using a winmodem but you should be able to use any modem app. Just configure it to use the /dev/modem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wombat
post May 17 2005, 07:02 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-May 05
Member No.: 5,005



Sorry to have to say this but it is my understanding that winmodem
or win -anything will not work with Linux , the reason is win- anything leave some thing out of of them that can only be found in that "other system ". But as i'm not an expert on this there may be a way around it . All the best.
wombat
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post May 18 2005, 08:46 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



SOME Winmodems work. But I think it is highly unlikely that the C had any Linux drivers on it.

You are however, better of with a proper hardware modem (Winmodems are only semi-hardware devices, a lot of processing is done by the CPU/OS, rather than the modem). I tihnk the MDK10.1 support for WinModems is better than 9.1 (everything else is more up to date anyway) so you might want to consider upgrading.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 06:40 AM