Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fudge Amount Of Memory Available
prpghandi
post Apr 14 2005, 10:35 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 14-April 05
Member No.: 4,872



I want to install an application that checks for 512 mb of memory. But I only have 256. Is there a way to have linux report 512. Can I modify the /proc/meminfo file by hand? Does anyone have some things I could try.

Thanks,

Keith
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 14 2005, 01:09 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Any program that has a check built in to make sure that you have 512 MB of memory is doing it for a reason.

I would stronly advise against modifying anything in the proc by hand unless you abosolutly know what you are doing. And modifying the membinfo file would be really really dumb. The system will then start writing to your new phantom memory and thats gonna be great.

The best way to make your system think it has 512 MB of ram is to go to newegg.com and buy another 256 MB of RAM and pop it in. Trust me, you do not want to screw around with tricking your computer into thinking it has RAM it doesn't.

Besides, if the program needs 512 MB of memory, then you aren't going to be able to run it with only 256.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Apr 15 2005, 10:19 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



I'm with Jim - Any program that thinks it needs 512mb RAM isnt gong to have exceptional performance anyway (thanks to bottlenecks int he system) - Su running it at 256mb will probably be painful.

Memory is pretty cheap, and will probably increase the performance of the rest of the system anyway.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2017 - 09:52 PM