Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrakelinux 10.1, Login problem
HelpHound
post Apr 13 2005, 05:52 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-April 05
Member No.: 4,840



I have just installed my first Linux system from the Mandrakelinux-10.1-Official Download-CD's 1-3. i586 iso.

The operation went smoothly but when rebooting I cannot seem to login, no doubt some obvious error or omission on my part!

The screen displays:-

Mandrakelinux release 10.1 (Official) for i586
Kernel 2.6.8.1-12 mdk on an i686 / ttyl
localhost login: brian
Last login: Tue Apr 12 21:36:31 on ttyl
[brian@localhost brian]$

The last login referred to was also abortive, I had set "brian" as my username and also set a password.

I had then carried out a complete re-installation of the OS without setting a password in case this had been copied incorrectly.

At the "localhost login" I had typed my username which seemed to be accepted but then tried "Enter" in lieu of a password, my former password, "Escape" and also "Ctrl-Alt-Delete" the latter resulted in anther reboot with the same problem.

Being my first attempt at Linux after being swamped with the Windows XP Pro SP2 blue screen of death, I am anxious to get up and running so that I might cease to be Microsoft dependant.

Help would be most welcome.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Apr 13 2005, 08:34 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



I am kinda confused at what your problem is. Your first bit of output:

QUOTE
Mandrakelinux release 10.1 (Official) for i586
Kernel 2.6.8.1-12 mdk on an i686 / ttyl
localhost login: brian
Last login: Tue Apr 12 21:36:31 on ttyl
[brian@localhost brian]$


...shows a successful login. When it says "[brian@localhost brian]$", you are logged in as brian, and you're now running in bash. Perhaps you were looking for a graphical login instead? Or setting a password? Or maybe you just didn't realize that you were actually logged in. I remember my first go at linux i was very confused at the login prompt, so i can completly understand after coming over from the Windows world.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Apr 13 2005, 11:36 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

Corey : I think he was expecting the gui to start up... 99% and one beer on it smile.gif

HelpHound : type the following

CODE
startx


if it wont start, hmmm I don't really use mandrake, but I think (there might be a better way, 99% sure) , insert cd1 again, and select update os, and this time select either GNOME or KDE those are the GUI's you are looking for, and makes life for a newcomer a lot easier.

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GNU_man
post Apr 13 2005, 03:28 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 11-April 05
From: Vancouver BC
Member No.: 4,859



I have Mandrake installed on my laptop, so this may help:

after everything has been transfered to the hard drive, the installer presents you with a list of things such as: sound, locale, network, etc... for you to check before you continue. One of the items is something like Graphical Configuration
It say in red letters 'not configured' but if it was your first install you may have missed it and just clicked 'next'

Try to remember if you had gone through the Xwindow config with the installer. If you can't remember entering all the values that it requires, then that's probably why X didn't start when you logged in.

but .. PLEASE do NOT go back to using Window$ you must avoid this evil at all costs!

Rest assured, this is a easy problem to solve. I have been using Mandrake 9.2 on my laptop for 3 years, and it's awsome! I had WinDOS 98 on it before and it SUCKED big time - I would never go back!


--------------------
QUOTE
After it's all said and done, more is said than done.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 11:45 AM