Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Guarddog Firewall, Won't start at boot
raysr
post Apr 3 2005, 05:05 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 4,234



I have used guarddog in Mandrake and never had this problem. But in Xandros 3 guarddog won't start at boot. I have to log in as if to config and click "ok" to get it going. Does anyone have any idea how I can get it to start at boot-up? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 3 2005, 05:58 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



When you say you have to "log in as if to config" are you going to drakconf (Mandrake Config) or into the guarddog config panel?

You should be able to go into drakconf and find the services settings, I think its under system, and guarddog should be in that list. Check the box that says "on boot" and you should be good.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raysr
post Apr 3 2005, 09:27 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 4,234



The guarddog configuring panel, i.e. enter root password then click "ok" anywhere to start, then close it out and it's running. If I just reboot and check at pcflank or gibson it's blocked but not stealthed. If I start it, log into guarddog with the root password like you were going to configure it and click "ok" at the bottom, then a box opens and "iptables" is set up then click "continue" then "ok" and it's running and stealthed. Anyway, with Mandrake I just set it up and forgot about it, at boot it was running and "stealthed".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 4 2005, 01:55 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Sorry, I didn't catch that you had switched to Xandros. Any service that you want running at boot needs to be added to that runlevel. I am not too familiar with Xandros so don't know exactly what to tell you.

Usuall a command like rc-update add guarddog default would add guarddog to your default run level.

Is there a guarddog service in /etc/init.d it would just show up in a ls of that directory. If so you can start it by just running /etc/init.d/guarddog start. But what you really want to do is add it to your boot processes. See if your machine has rc-update and I will poke around a little tomorrow, unless somebody else knows Xandros.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raysr
post Apr 4 2005, 03:15 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 4,234



Thanks for the reply. rc update "command not found", /etc/init.d/guarddog start "no such file or directory".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 4 2005, 09:36 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Its might not actually be called guarddog in your init.d folder, run a ls /etc/init.d to see what services you have in your init.d folder. If there is anything in there that resembles guarddog try it like that. It looks like I am going to have to do some research to answer this question.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raysr
post Apr 5 2005, 11:41 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 4,234



Guidedog is in there but no guarddog. I installed guidedog once but removed it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 01:42 AM