Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Buying A Domain Name/setting Up A Server, Where and How?
pickwickian
post Mar 31 2005, 01:04 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 29-March 05
Member No.: 4,800



I have two domain names that I would like to purchase. I plan to use my RedHat 9 system to host the site that the names are attached to. I'm very new at this, and wonder if anyone can direct me to 1) a site that gives me more information about creating a Linux server (using RedHat 9, if possible), and 2) some excellent places that I can buy domain names from (without services or support that I won't want to use as the owner of the host server).

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Mar 31 2005, 07:07 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Registerfly.com is a very good place to register domain names and then point them at a particular IP. You can even create multiple pointers for the same domain, so you can point www to one ip, ftp to another, and foobar to a third, its pretty nice.

As far as setting up the server, its pretty easy, red hat will have the option for things like apache and proftp right in the install or you can install it from packages later. After than its just a matter of putting the files you want in the right place and locking it down so its more sercure. There are lots of places on the internet to find out how to set it up, or books, or forms like this.

I use registerfly to host my domains and its really nice. Good luck, and if you have any more questions just ask.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jmakris
post Apr 1 2005, 03:33 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-April 05
Member No.: 4,812



pickwickian
I am in the process of setting up a linux server for our company to host email (sendmail) and host one of our sites. If you are setting this server up using a cable modem or dsl, check with your isp to make sure "service" ports are not blocked. port 80 web, port 21 ftp, mail port 25 & 110. There is nothing worse than getting everything up and running and find out you CAN'T host this thing. If you are using a t1 great no problems. If you are using cable/dsl good luck you may have to host your site on another port....been there done that got the t shirt.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Apr 2 2005, 12:19 PM
Post #4


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Also if you're using Cable make sure your ISP actually allows you to run servers. Most of the cable providers here in Ontario do not permit it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pickwickian
post Apr 3 2005, 07:48 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 29-March 05
Member No.: 4,800



Thanks for your comments--

It didn't even occur to me that they might not allow me to do it!

I got my domain names, however, and that's a start.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pickwickian
post Apr 4 2005, 12:42 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 29-March 05
Member No.: 4,800



I received the following message from my Comcast account when I inquired about blocked ports. Should I have any problems setting up my own server/web page on my Linux machine with these ports blocked?

(Quote)
Thank you for your inquiry. I understand you have questions about which ports are blocked on the Comcast network. Comcast does not support or offer web hostings with residential service. I have included the current list of blocked ports for you below:

67
68
135
137
138
139
445
512
520
1080

Please be advised that this is the most current information available at this time, and additional ports can be blocked in the future.
(End Quote)

I want to be sure I can actually host the site before I do all the work!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Apr 4 2005, 03:08 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



HTTP runs on port 80, which isnt blocked. So it should be OK.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 01:01 AM