Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can't Run Sim City 300 For Linux
docmur
post Mar 30 2005, 07:54 AM
Post #1


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



I downloaded a copy of simcity 3000 for linux and when I install it using the sh setup.sh command it installs fine. The problem comes when I try to run the game. when ever I type sc3u which should run the game I get the warning

/usr/local/bin/sc3u: relocation error: /usr/local/bin/sc3u: symbol _dl_global_scope, version GLIBC_2.0 not defined in file ld-linux.so.2 with link time reference

I have no clue what this line is talking about. Can some one help me to get this working

Thanks DOCMUR


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 30 2005, 08:27 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,


rpm -q glibc ,... what does it show ?

if nothing

yum install glibc
apt-get install glibc
(or use your distros installed to install glibc)

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Apr 1 2005, 12:01 PM
Post #3


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



I can't install using the INSTALL file. Here is how I installed it


[Docmur@Home]$ tar -x glibc.0.0.0
[Docmur@Home]$ cd glibc.0.0.0
[Docmur@Home]$ ./configure
bash permission denied.

the problem is that I can never use the ./configure once I hand CD'd to the file. I say's there no install.sh and there is no premission but just for fun I was doing this as root and myself several time. I can't get it to install please help.


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 1 2005, 03:19 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



take owner ship of the folder. If you un-tar it as a user that user should own it but go ahead and try to take ownership of the whole directory. This is how you do that if you aren't familiar.

chown -R username glibc.0.0.0

The -R makes it descend into the folder and sub folders and take ownership of all the files. Try that and see where it gets you, if you are still having problems try a ls -l and look at the permisions for the files, if you don't know how to read the table post a snippit and I will help you out.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Apr 2 2005, 07:37 AM
Post #5


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



Okay now I get a message saying I must be in a new build directory, please help


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 07:50 AM