Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wireless Networking Problem, Need help configuring my wireless card!
KeithGarrett
post Feb 24 2005, 08:09 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-February 05
Member No.: 4,695



I am a Linux newbie, and have just installed SuSE 9.0. I have both a wired NIC and a wireless card in the machine, but can't get the wireless to work. Here are my results of ifconfig and iwconfig. I appreciate any help you can provide.

CODE
memoryalpha:/home/keith # ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:04:5A:74:7B:EA
         inet addr:172.18.222.15  Bcast:172.18.222.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
         inet6 addr: fe80::204:5aff:fe74:7bea/64 Scope:Link
         UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
         RX packets:229 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:287 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
         RX bytes:66814 (65.2 Kb)  TX bytes:35200 (34.3 Kb)
         Interrupt:10 Base address:0xb000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
         inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
         inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
         UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
         RX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
         RX bytes:3260 (3.1 Kb)  TX bytes:3260 (3.1 Kb)

memoryalpha:/home/keith # iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

eth1      IEEE 802.11-DS  ESSID:"lanparty"
         Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:66:38:30:E8
         Bit Rate:11Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   Sensitivity=0/65535
         Retry limit:16   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
         Encryption key:off
         Power Management:off
         Link Quality:25/10  Signal level:-51 dBm  Noise level:-256 dBm
         Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
         Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:54   Missed beacon:0

wlan0     IEEE 802.11-DS  ESSID:"lanparty"
         Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:66:38:30:E8
         Bit Rate:11Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   Sensitivity=0/65535
         Retry limit:16   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
         Encryption key:off
         Power Management:off
         Link Quality:25/10  Signal level:-51 dBm  Noise level:-256 dBm
         Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
         Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:54   Missed beacon:0

sit0      no wireless extensions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 25 2005, 04:29 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

do you give out ip addresses via a dhcp server , or do you manualy set them ?

what address range is your wireless lan using ?

maybe try to set iwconfig eth1 192.168.x.x
route add default gw
vi /etc/resolv.conf

manually?

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KeithGarrett
post Feb 25 2005, 06:13 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-February 05
Member No.: 4,695



Hi, Robert. My router gives out IP addresses. Its local IP is 172.18.222.1. It gives out IPs starting at 172.18.222.50. Formerly, under windows, I had this machine assigned to 172.18.222.10, and the other machines in the house got dynamic IPs (because I run web and ftp servers from this box).

Trying your first command got this result:
CODE
memoryalpha:/home/keith # iwconfig eth1 172.18.222.10
Error : unrecognised wireless request "172.18.222.10"


I'm not sure what you meant by the others.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 25 2005, 07:32 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

sorry my bad

CODE
iwconfig eth0 essid lanparty

iwconfig eth0 freq 2.422G

iwconfig eth channel 3


for example.

You could aslo try to manualy set the access point

iwconfig eth0 ap xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx the mac address of the access point.

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KeithGarrett
post Feb 25 2005, 09:18 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-February 05
Member No.: 4,695



I tried those commands for eth1, but none of them changed anything. (It's already set to ESSID 'lanparty'.)

Should I be using eth1? I figured eth0 is the wired card, but when I run iwconfig I see identical results for eth1 and wlan0. Are they synonymous?

Also, I noticed that the last line of my iwconfig results includes this:

Invalid misc:28816

It seems that the system detects my wireless lan, but I'm not getting an IP address.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KeithGarrett
post Feb 28 2005, 09:44 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-February 05
Member No.: 4,695



More info:

When I enter 'ifup wlan0', here's what I get:

Starting DHCP Client Daemon on wlan0... startproc: exit status of parent of /sbin/dhcpd: 1
.............no IP address yet...backgrounding.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Mar 3 2005, 12:34 PM
Post #7


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Try: dhcpcd wlan0 or dhclient wlan0


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KeithGarrett
post Mar 4 2005, 06:13 AM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 24-February 05
Member No.: 4,695



I eventually solved my problem by performing a fresh install of Fedora Core 3. In FC3, I have to use eth1 for wireless as wlan0 doesn't work. But it was as simple as choosing eth1 in the GUI and clicking "activate." That's more like it!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2017 - 05:37 PM