Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ntldr Is Missing, My dual boot doesnt work!
ggsinclair
post Feb 23 2005, 07:50 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 23-February 05
Member No.: 4,689



Hello!

I think this is a fairly common problem, however, all the info I have received is a bit complicated!

I am a newbie and use the very excellent Suse 9.2 pro which I dual boot with XP. I only do this because I have not managed to detect my MP3 player through Suse yet!!

I upgraded from Suse 9.1 to 9.2. Suse is on hda. XP is on hdb.

Now when I try to boot XP I get the error NTLDR is missing.

Can anyone help?

Thanks.

Gordon blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Feb 23 2005, 09:08 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Did you install Windows first? If so, it might have installed the boot files on hda and the os on hdb, windows is screwy like that. I'm not quite sure how to solve this, not sure if booting into recovery console with a bootdisk will help or not. sad.gif


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ggsinclair
post Feb 23 2005, 03:04 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 23-February 05
Member No.: 4,689



Corey

Thanks for your reply.

I installed XP on hdb when hda was disconnected.

It used to work ok but now it doesnt - very strange!

Gordon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 12:39 AM