Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Server Is Halting Very Often, SERVER HALTS MORE OFTEN THAN BEFORE
adlanda
post Feb 21 2005, 10:59 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-February 05
Member No.: 4,680



Hello, I have a server running REDHAT AS2.1.

The box was running OK until last week that HP added memory to go
from 1GB to 4GB of memory and now I get this message at the console:

PORTALES LOGIN:CPU 0 :MACHINE CHECK EXCEPTION:000000000000004
CPU3:MACHINE CHECK EXCEPTION:0000000000000004
CPU1:MACHINE CHECK EXCEPTION:0000000000000004
CPU2:MACHINE CHECK EXCEPTION:0000000000000004

KERNEL PANIC:UNABLE TO CONTINUE.

BANK 0 :BE0003001008081F<0> KERNEL PANIC:UNABLE TO CONTINUE
IN IDLE TASK -NOT SYNCING

KERNEL PANIC:CPU CONTEXT CORRUPT
KERNEL PANIC:UNABLE TO CONTINUE

IN IDLE TASK -NOT SYNCING

Today it was worst, the system did not crash but the server
was hanging and not responding.

Any help is much appreciated.

Agustín de Landa.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Feb 21 2005, 11:51 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Recompile your kernel, and make sure you dot have more than 4gb or RAM. If you DO have mor than 4gig, you need to compile your kernel with support for >4gig

Ddd


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adlanda
post Feb 21 2005, 12:14 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-February 05
Member No.: 4,680



I am a bit new on this, can you provide more help on how to
recompile the Kernel.

Is this something easy to do.

Thanks.

Agustín.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 21 2005, 04:23 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hello,

I think there is a easier solution ,

first go to the webpage from where you are downloading the updates , yum or up2date , there search for kernel-hugemem-xxx.xxx.xxx (preferably the same version you have) do this with only 1GB of ram. Download the kernel-hugemem , then do a rpm -Uvh kernel-hugemem , in theory this should work , and still leave your old kernel untouched so you can always return to a working 1GB system if this fails.

UPDATE
...well just checked this is ssoooooo easy it's going to make u cry (gotta stop drinkin' this beer here smile.gif ), so I've checked with yum , and if you issue the command

CODE
yum install kernel-hugemem


guess what??? smile.gif)) yippeeeee it actualy can install kernel-hugemem for you.

So my bet is (a beer) that even if you use up2date to update your system it must have a options to install kernel-hugemem, and that is all.

DON'T RECOMPILE THE KERNEL this time.

Sincerely
Robert B

ps.: if need more help, please ask


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adlanda
post Feb 21 2005, 07:44 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-February 05
Member No.: 4,680



Thanks Robert, but I am wondering, why use YUM if I only installed 4GBytes ??

Will this fix my kernel to be able to recognize the memory ??

Thanks,

Agustín.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Feb 22 2005, 04:45 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



The hugemem patches are needed if you have that much memory. The kernel suggested comes precompiled with those patches in it. Yum will just automate the isntall for you (ie download and install the rpm and any deps)

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 07:31 PM