Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installing Lime Wire
docmur
post Feb 7 2005, 10:28 AM
Post #1


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



I need some help installing lime wire. I found a java run time off java.com and installe it using thr RPM. Now when I run the command in the prompt "sh LimeWireLinux.bin" I get a warning about a VM. can some one help me I use suse linux 9.2 pro.

Thanks DOCMUR


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Feb 7 2005, 01:31 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



You need to download a virtual java machine. Open up Yast and do a search for it in there, if it's not avilable, you should be able to download it directly from sun:

http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/download.jsp


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Feb 7 2005, 02:23 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Once you have done that you might need to edit your ~/.bashrc file - but doing a search on these forums for limewire should bring up some info about that

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Feb 7 2005, 05:16 PM
Post #4


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



It didn't work I downloaded both the jdk and the jre java bundles. I right clicked them to install with yast entered my root password and they installed but I still get the VM warning when I run the ./LimeWireLinux.bin I have done chmod -x LimeWireLinux.bin so it should execute?


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Feb 8 2005, 12:26 PM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



chmod +x, not -x

Who are you installing Limewire as? If it's as a regular user, you might not have access to java.

Otherwise, please type 'whereis java', and tell me if anything shows up.

If nothing does, then either jre isn't installed, or isn't in PATH.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Feb 8 2005, 01:07 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



The RPMS from the java site dont edit the PATH environemnt variable - It has to be done manually.

The following tutorial is written for Mandrake, but most of it should apply to Suse
http://goland.org/Tech/Installing_Java_in_...ndrake_9_1.html

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Feb 8 2005, 03:39 PM
Post #7


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



*or* you could read the guide I just put in the


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Feb 8 2005, 04:16 PM
Post #8


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



Thanks guys I have finally got it to work. Instead of using the super user account I ran it out my own account after I had made it a executable.

Thanks DOCMUR


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 11:36 PM