Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can I Format A Certain Partition..., ... without re-partitioning?
jetfire
post Jan 31 2005, 05:50 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 05
Member No.: 4,587



The computer I was given has 2 Linux OS's installed, each on its own partition with a seperate swap partition. What I want to do is wipe one out, but leave the partition in place so I can build a new system there. Is that possible, and/or would I even need to do such a thing?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 31 2005, 06:06 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Most installers will let you specify the partitions but you need to use the expert mode so you really do not need to do anything. BTW you really only need one swap partition.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jetfire
post Jan 31 2005, 06:10 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 05
Member No.: 4,587



Unfortunately, the new system I'm building is straight from the source code, so there's no formal installation involved yet.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 31 2005, 06:37 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



You can wipe out the 2nd OS from the first by reformating its partition.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jetfire
post Feb 3 2005, 04:25 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 05
Member No.: 4,587



Okay, I tried formatting using the mke2fs command, unsuccessfully. Here is the transcript...

<prompt>: mke2fs /dev/hda3
bash: mke2fs: command not found
<prompt>: man mke2fs
<showed the man document for mke2fs>
<prompt>: whereis mke2fs
mke2fs /sbin/mke2fs /usr/share/man/man8/mke2fs.8.gz

Any idea why this isn't working?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Feb 3 2005, 06:11 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



/sbin is not in the current path environment. If you logged in as root via the su command use:
su -
This will use root's environment and not the current user. You can always use the full path too i.e.
/sbin/mke2fs -j /dev/hda3

The -j option creates an ext3 filesystem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2017 - 04:30 AM