Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I've Installed Mandrake 9.0 In A Weird Way !, I need help with this booting up stuff !
Neuromancer
post Feb 23 2003, 02:01 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 23-February 03
Member No.: 471



I wanted to try linux so I did this : I have a spare hard drive that was not beeing used , so I formated it . I disconnected my using HD ( which has win xp on it ) and connected my spare one , then installed Linux on it BUT now I'm getting sick of changing conections every now and then whenever I wanna get back to xp ! Any way of using a boot selector or something like that ? Is this "LILO" a boot selector ? Could I use it ? And one more thing while we're at it : What driver should I get from nvidia if I'm using a Geforce 4 ti 4200 128mb ??? Well thanks mates I hope this is a fairly simple question so I don't bother you guys to much ! laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neuromancer
post Feb 23 2003, 11:37 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 23-February 03
Member No.: 471



Now I'm totally fucked ! I tried installing something called zboot , and it screwed up my MBR or something , when I tried switching on my pc it says select OS and there's only one option when I tried to select it it said NO OS ! What the fuck ???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Feb 24 2003, 02:42 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Okay, first off, you should have installed LILO with a configuration of something like this:

hda1 --> Windows XP
hdb1 --> Mandrake

When the computer boots up it would give you an option of loading windows and mandrake.

Right now, you will have to boot linux up with your trusty bootdisk that I am sure you made during installation (you did make one right??). When you boot into linux, you can go ahead and install lilo. This will prevent you from doing the ridiculus task you mentioned above of switching cables.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neuromancer
post Feb 24 2003, 11:26 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 23-February 03
Member No.: 471



Thanks I've managed to correct my instalation by simply conecting the 3 hds at the same time and reinstalling Linux but now I have another problem ... The system sometimes hangs after the "xinetd ok" line ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mortonarts
post Apr 18 2003, 12:44 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-April 03
Member No.: 688



Or if You still want to use two hard drives you can get a removable hard drive bay for about 25 bucks and use that to change operating systems. This way you don't have to worry about windows or Linux messing with each other.

James
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 12:39 AM