Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Boot Problem, Installed Linux, can't boot windows
arachnion
post Jan 28 2005, 06:07 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 28-January 05
Member No.: 4,599



I made a swap and a linux partition, installed RH8 (it's the only distro, I have right now, will have a more recent one soon)
anyway, now I can't boot my win98SE anymore, though according to fdisk, the partition is still there, and has been toggled bootable. I hope I said everything I needed to.

thx aRAchNiON
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
arachnion
post Jan 28 2005, 07:19 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 28-January 05
Member No.: 4,599



UPDATE

I've been fiddling in GRUB a little, and I think I'm in the right direction
first: my partition table
CODE
Disk /dev/hda: 255 heads, 63 sectors, 5005 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 bytes

  Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1             1      2516  20202630+  83  Linux
/dev/hda2          2516      2553    297500   82  Linux swap
/dev/hda3   *      2553      5005  19702500+   c  Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

my GRUB menu.lst file
CODE
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
#          root (hd0,0)
#          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda1
#          initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=0
timeout=30
fallback=1
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
#--------WINDOWS--------
title Windows 98 SE
    root (hd0,2)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
#--------LINUX--------
title Red Hat Linux (2.4.18-14)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.18-14 ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.18-14.img


I think my chainloader is wrong with windows
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 28 2005, 09:47 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Try rootnoverify:

title Windows 98 SE
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
makeactive
chainloader +1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
arachnion
post Jan 29 2005, 04:48 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 28-January 05
Member No.: 4,599



I reinstalled RH and managed to make it configure it for me:

CODE
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
#          root (hd0,0)
#          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda1
#          initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=0
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Red Hat Linux (2.4.18-14)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.18-14 ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.18-14.img
title win98
    rootnoverify (hd0,2)
    chainloader +1


but it doesn't work, it gives the folowing error:


CODE
Booting 'win98'

rootnoverify (hd0,2)
chainloader +1

Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format


[edit] it also fails if I ad 'makeactive' before 'chainloader +'

what do I try next?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 29 2005, 12:04 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Windows 95/98 doesn't like to be on other than the first partition for booting ... I think you can hide partitions, which might help.

try this:


CODE
title win98
 hide (hd0,0)
 hide (hd0,1)
 rootnoverify (hd0,2)
 chainloader +1
 makeactive


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
arachnion
post Jan 30 2005, 09:20 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 28-January 05
Member No.: 4,599



everthing I've tried so far hasn't worked. I've also changed my system to SuSE 9.1 personal. this is what I've got:

partition table
CODE
Disk /dev/hda: 41.1 GB, 41174138880 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 79780 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes

  Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1               1       40674    20499664+  83  Linux
/dev/hda2           79769       79780        6048   82  Linux swap
/dev/hda3   *       40675       79768    19702500+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)

Partition table entries are not in disk order


/boot/grub/menu.lst
CODE
# Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Sun Jan 30 13:33:03 2005


color white/blue black/light-gray
default 0
timeout 8
gfxmenu (hd0,0)/boot/message

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
title Linux
   kernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 vga=0x314 splash=silent desktop resume=/dev/hda2 showopts
   initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd

###arachnion added this
title Windows
   hide (hd0,0)
   hide (hd0,2)
   rootnoverify (hd0,1)
   chainloader +1
   makeactive


###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: floppy###
title Floppy
   root (fd0)
   chainloader +1

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
title Failsafe
   kernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off vga=normal noresume nosmp noapic maxcpus=0  3
   initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd


so, what next?

btw, I'm not going to change anything any longer, cuz it just keeps going wrong dry.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 30 2005, 01:59 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



I think the universe is trying to tell you something...

But yeh, Win98 wont boot unless it is on the first partition on a drive. I dont think there is any way around it...


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
arachnion
post Jan 30 2005, 05:14 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 28-January 05
Member No.: 4,599



CODE
  Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1               1       40674    20499664+  83  Linux
/dev/hda2   *       40675       79768    19702500+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda3           79769       79780        6048   82  Linux swap


Windows is in second place and working
this is what I did
reinstalled Windows (it auto took the second partition)
reinstalled SuSE (it configured everything just fine)

thx guys, but the universe tells me something else: everything is possible biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 02:59 PM