Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Point2play/cadega Problem
Sherman
post Jan 25 2005, 05:11 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 4,581



I have P2P up and running and I try to get the latest Cadega through P2P and it tells me the file is either corrupt or I don't have enough disk space. I know I have more than enough disk space... and I've tried a few other different versions of Cadega. What's going on?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jan 25 2005, 06:05 PM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



What file does it say might be corrupt? What are you trying to run? What command are you using to run it? Have you edited your config file, or is it default?

Please include more information if you want help.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sherman
post Jan 25 2005, 06:26 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 4,581



I'm a Linux newb. The only Linux I have used besides Suse 9.1 is Lindows. When I install Point2Play it installs to my start menu. I haven't edited anything. It doesn't tell me what file is corrupt. It says that the whole file I try to download could be corrupt or my harddrive is full. When you go into P2P you click Get Latest Version when you sign in. It then attempts to download and install but it says there may not be enough hard drive space or the file could be corrupt.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sherman
post Jan 25 2005, 09:20 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 4,581



Bump?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jan 27 2005, 08:44 AM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



QUOTE (Sherman @ Jan 25 2005, 06:26 PM)
I'm a Linux newb. The only Linux I have used besides Suse 9.1 is Lindows. When I install Point2Play it installs to my start menu. I haven't edited anything. It doesn't tell me what file is corrupt. It says that the whole file I try to download could be corrupt or my harddrive is full. When you go into P2P you click Get Latest Version when you sign in. It then attempts to download and install but it says there may not be enough hard drive space or the file could be corrupt.

Sounds like a problem with either cedega (check their forums, are others having this problem?), or your version of cedega/p2p.

You might want to redownload the binaries, install, and re-run them. Enter in your username/pass in point2play (remember, case sensitive) and check for the latest version again. Might be a bug in your version, that they released a fix for.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sherman
post Jan 27 2005, 05:22 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 4,581



Thanks for your help. I'll try that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sherman
post Jan 27 2005, 05:45 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 4,581



It's still not working and I'm getting extremely frustrated. What the hell is going on? There are no other versions of P2P or Cadega on the TransGaming website and what is the binary? I'm a complete newbie. I need things explained. Please help, I mean, isn't that what these are here for? I really want to try and migrate to Linux, but the difficulty is really unnecessary. This is the the main thing people stay with Windows, because things just work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jan 27 2005, 06:34 PM
Post #8


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



I hear you.

But if linux were as easy and hassle free as windows, everyone would be using it. This is NOT a linux issue, this is an issue with their how you installed this, or cedega.

You really should be bitching on cedega's forums, if you're a paying customer. They'd better help you. This is a general linux forum, we didn't make cedega/p2p.

By "binary" I mean the binary for your system. If you use SuSe/Redhat/Fedora, it's .RPM

If you use Debian, it's .deb

If you use slackware, it's .tgz

You mentioned SuSe, but I got the impression you no longer use it.

What distro are you using? Do you have an (active) transgaming account? You might very well be trying to install the wrong binary for your computer.

It's hard to help you with the morsels of information you've given us. We need more. We can't wave a magic wand and make everything all right, we need your input as well. smile.gif

From what I understand:

You install the package you downloaded from cedega (what packages did you download? what are their filenames? Did you install cedega as well, or only p2p?). You NEED cedega installed, with p2p, to work.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sherman
post Jan 28 2005, 06:19 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 4,581



I use SuSE Linux 9.1 Professional 64 bit. I have downloaded the .rpm of all the latest drivers. Then I tried to get the latest and older Cadega from P2P with their download the latest version option and it had an error that I had full diskspace or a corrupt file. I manually instaleld Cadega but it doesn't show up in P2P and things don't work like they should. It installed a Windows 95 version I think and when I try to install WoW then it gives me an error about an unsupported operating system I need Windows 98 or higher. I've tried re-installing it many times.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jan 29 2005, 02:22 AM
Post #10


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



If it doesn't find cedega, then it seems that cedega probally didn't get installed.

Open up a terminal, and try to manually type 'cedega'.

If that works, then I'd suggest using that instead of point2play to install WoW (mount CD-rom manually, and cedega /mnt/cdrom/setup.exe)

Cedega probally won't be found that (From what I remember point2play detects cedega if you install it correctly).

Anyways, please tell us if cedega (command) works or not.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 01:23 AM