Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Monitor Screen Size
Ashley
post Jan 24 2005, 05:53 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-January 05
Member No.: 4,573



Hello,
I have recently installed Linux for the first time, I installed SuSE 9.1 Personal, and I cant access half of the screen. I cannot hit the _ [] X in the top right hand corner of the window. And I cant find the start menu. Does anyone know how to fix this?

Many thanks,
Ashley Snowdon


--------------------
New to Linux.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jan 24 2005, 04:35 PM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Try:

Control Alt +

or

Control Alt -

(The + and - you want to use are on the right side of your keyboard, near the numeric pad)


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ashley
post Jan 25 2005, 06:08 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-January 05
Member No.: 4,573



OK, I will try this. I would take a screenshot, but I cant get to the menu. blink.gif


--------------------
New to Linux.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jan 25 2005, 06:45 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



A little trick with most window managers, if you're full window isn't viewable, you can press and hold Alt, and then left click anywhere in the window to move it around. To resize a window, press and hold alt, and right click to resize. This doesn't work for all window managers, for example, i'm not sure if this works for Gnome, but i do know it works for KDE and WindowMaker.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ashley
post Jan 25 2005, 01:15 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-January 05
Member No.: 4,573



Hmm, I have only just got back from work. But it seems that what you are saying wont help me. The cursor doesn't strech throughout the whole of my monitor size. Here is a quick sketch of what it is looking like:

http://img171.exs.cx/img171/3774/desktop9gd.jpg

Say the whole picture is my monitor and what i see. The cursor cannot go into the black part. So basically, i only can see a small area, I dont know how to configure it all properly. Hope the sketch helps.

Also, it is not a window, it is my whole desktop.


--------------------
New to Linux.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 25 2005, 03:52 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Have you tried playing with the knobs on the monitor? Maybe the image is just being projected in the wrong place

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ashley
post Jan 25 2005, 05:00 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-January 05
Member No.: 4,573



I will be using Windows and Linux on seperate hardrives. If I fiddle about with the knobs on the monitor on Linux, will it effect the appearence on Windows aswell?

Many thanks.


--------------------
New to Linux.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jan 25 2005, 07:52 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Yeah, it will affect windows as well.

If you can, open up a console window while in X, and run 'xvidtune' or 'Xvidtune', and see if you can adjust from there.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 04:05 AM