Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Change Server Name, RHEL setup
rodnod
post Jan 20 2005, 09:33 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-January 05
Member No.: 4,552



Where are the config files to change the name of my server.? I have changed it in network settings and samba so the new name [marvin] appears on the network, but when I check the log files it still shows as the old name [inferno].

[snip]
Jan 21 12:08:45 inferno network: Bringing up interface eth0: succeeded
Jan 21 12:08:45 inferno kernel: ip_tables: © 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
Jan 21 12:08:45 inferno kernel: e1000: eth0 NIC Link is Up 1000 Mbps Full Duplex
Jan 21 12:08:47 inferno network: Bringing up interface eth1: succeeded
[snip]

Thanks
Rod
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 20 2005, 09:51 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



The /etc/sysconfig/network file is where you change the hostname.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rodnod
post Jan 20 2005, 10:22 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-January 05
Member No.: 4,552



I have already changed the settings in /etc/sysconfig/network. Checked them again, and yes they are updated. I have restarted the services after making changes, but is it possible I need to do a full system reboot.?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 21 2005, 10:44 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Yes. you can use the hostname command to change the hostname at any time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jan 24 2005, 02:38 AM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Besides using the hostname (which isn't a permament change, IIRC) edit /etc/hostname

That'll change it. To get it to show username@newhostname, just log off/on. smile.gif


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 03:25 AM