Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Install Problems, HD unregisterable
martiniman86
post Jan 19 2005, 07:17 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 19-January 05
Member No.: 4,540



Well I'm a long time Microshaft Winblows user trying to install a copy of Debian i386 on my old Pentium 1 system. Initially, I was able to get to the Boot.bat file in the INSTALL Dir of the cd ROM via my Windoze
98 Startup Disk And I had one succesfull Install. But from what I learned I wanted to Re- install because X window wasn't installed the first time. And I wanted to better Partition my HDs also. Then.... I had 3 failed installs Lilo wasn't installing, Even after partitioning a Smalll /Boot partion. And I was unsuccessful creating a boot disk for Linux. Now in a nut SHELL After SEVERAL Repartitions and Reboots I am unable to access my HDs through my W 98 Startup Disk FDISK won't work (it just searches). And I can't Access the Debian CD any more either. Any body have a solution so I can acces my drives and Delete any Partitions or am I gonna have to take a magnet to the Damn thing. I screwed EVERYTHING up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jan 19 2005, 08:45 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Have you tried something like knoppix (www.knoppix.org) which is a bootable linux CD? That should alow you to boot up and use fdisk to partition the drive any way you want.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
martiniman86
post Jan 20 2005, 05:08 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 19-January 05
Member No.: 4,540



No, but my CD rom is Pre-98 (not bootable) Need Start Disk. 1.44 Mb only!! Was readable B4 linux Install (@#$% Up), After, No dice. what I need is a hint as to a Utility TOOL that I can make my drives recognized by a letter C:, A:, D: etc. I Have been trying to find a DOS disk but. They are all .IMG Files and all the recomended programs won't write to floppy. I don't know why, but I have an awsome intel build and I should be able to make all knds of bootable floppys but I am having trouble (for now)..... Weither it be Linux or DOS. There is no recognition even with 3rd party partitioning software. I am winblows Dumb,. I am currently downloading a good user friendly. Dist. Of linux through BT XANDROS.DESKTOP.OS.V3.DELUXE.EDITION. But it is of no use unless I can get my HDs to show up in my BIOS. I Kind of want to take a magnet to it all but I know there is a better way. Knoppix is a good Idea but we'll see if I can boot it. My CD drive is pre "AUTORUN" or AUTO boot. neeed 1.44 mb floppy. TO load driver CDROM. but even after loading any tools MY HD and cd rom won't work.

Downloading Knoppix thru bt We'll see if it works.!! It could, Big DL.. Let you know... blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 20 2005, 11:26 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



If your HDD doesnt show up in the BIOS you have bigger problems than what is on the disk itself. Even if a disk is unusuable for reading/writing it will normally show up in the BIOS. Check your jumpers, and try clearing the CMOS settings.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
martiniman86
post Jan 20 2005, 03:35 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 19-January 05
Member No.: 4,540



My HDD shows up in the BIOS but After I load dos diagnostic tools it won't be recognized. The RAM drive ends up being C: when it should be D:.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 09:12 PM