Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Networking Problems, networking
reziarnez
post Jan 18 2005, 10:52 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-January 05
Member No.: 4,533



im new to linux and dont know much about it but here it goes.
my office has a network setup using samba2.2.8 we recently purchased a viao laptop .and placed where a dell formerly lived.now while trying to set up the network connection to the viao nothing happens.i assure you we did everything right on the viao.is there a step that i must take in the server to assure that the linux and viao are communicating???(keep in mind that i can access the web from the viao).i dont understand how but it does
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jan 19 2005, 06:27 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Is the Vaio running Windows or linux? Which version of either is it running?

i'm really not sure what the problem could be, as long as it was on the same workgroup that was set on the samba server, and on the same subnet, it should work. Double-check those two points.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
reziarnez
post Jan 19 2005, 03:46 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-January 05
Member No.: 4,533



im running nt on the server and xp on the laptop would this cause a conflict??
the sub groups are the same ,we just cant access the network drives(slave hard discs)from the laptop or vice versa
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 11:29 PM