Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Network Config Problems
mohankv
post Jan 16 2005, 04:56 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 16-January 05
Member No.: 4,514



Hi! I'm using Mandrake 9.2 and Win XP on a dbl boot system. My LAN is working fine in windows, but it doesn't seem to work at all in Linux. I've set up the IP addr, Subnet Mask,DNS server, Gateway and Proxy Server properly, but I can't even ping my gateway or DNS server.My /etc/resolv.conf is proper. ifconfig says eth0 is up and running with the IP addr and subnet mask I've given..My network card is Davicom 9102/a, not embedded. Drakconf says the network card driver is 'tulip' .. insmod refuses to accept dmfe (the driver prov. by the manuf. ) I downloaded because it was compiled with gcc 2.0 Is this the cause of the problem ? How do I fix it ??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 16 2005, 09:24 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



I have seen a similar problem in MDK where it simply refuses to talk to anything through the NIC, but insists it is working. It always occured when using a certain motherboard, regardless of other hardware. It only occured in MDK though, Fedora worked fine. If you have a LiveCD hanging about then try booting from it and seeing if the network works in it.

Other than that, the only thing I would suggest is that you upgrade to 10.1 which might have a fix for the problem

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rbil
post Jan 18 2005, 12:29 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 18-January 05
Member No.: 4,527



If you've setup a firewall, make sure it is running.

Cheers,
Rene
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 01:56 AM