Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help - Hardware Damage?, first bootup of fedora core 3 froze
azakem
post Jan 11 2005, 09:35 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 15-May 04
Member No.: 2,960



Hi all, my system is royally screwed at the moment, just wondering if anyone could help me diagnose the cause.

My red hat 9 installation was acting up, so I backed up my necessary files and did a fresh install of fedora core 3. The installation completed, and fedora core booted fine, taking me to the setup menus for the first bootup. However, as soon as it hit the soundcard area, the computer froze, screen, system, and all. On subsequent attempts to reboot or reinstall the OS, the computer simply locks up during boot up, at different points each time. I then went into the BIOS menus and checked the CPU temp, and it read 92 C (a little hot, right?). So my question is, which pieces of hardware on my computer are likely damaged at this point?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 11 2005, 09:45 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Sounds like you had / have a fan/heaksink issue on your processor, which caused your initial issues in RH9.

What might be damaged is hard to tell ... if you fix the cooling issue, maybe nothing is damaged. Or maybe the CPU is bad, but everything else is OK ... OR the cpu and motherboard could have heat damage.

My experience says that probably there is not board damage caused by heat ... but maybe cpu damage.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azakem
post Jan 12 2005, 01:22 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 15-May 04
Member No.: 2,960



Is there any easy way to tell whether the CPU and motherboard have damage? Or do I have to swap parts and see what works?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
beltucadros
post Jan 12 2005, 01:40 PM
Post #4


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 28-September 04
From: Buffalo
Member No.: 3,855



first thing i would do is repleace the cpu heatsink/fan and see if you can boot. if every thing runs fine then your golden if not try to swap out the cpu if everything runs then your good if not try swaping the mother board.


--------------------
"And we were differant, just like all the other kids."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 12 2005, 01:41 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



You will have to swap them.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azakem
post Jan 14 2005, 01:01 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 15-May 04
Member No.: 2,960



Thanks for the help, I replaced the heat sink and CPU fan and now everything seems to be working fine.

Now I have another, completely unrelated question...

Why won't XMMS play any of my sound files? I used yum to install the xmms-mp3 package, and the output is set to eSound, but when I try to play anything XMMS just skims really quickly to the end of the playlist without actually playing any sound.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jan 14 2005, 02:23 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Are you sure its loading the files? Thats what happenes to me when my windows drive isn't mounted (where the mp3s are). Make sure that the paths of the files is correct and see what happens. If XMMS is having modules issues it will tell you, and if it thinks its working it will play the whole file. When it skips files it usually means it can't find them.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azakem
post Jan 14 2005, 01:53 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 15-May 04
Member No.: 2,960



Apparently all of my sound files were 0 bytes.... not sure how that happened. But that explains the error.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jan 14 2005, 02:40 PM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Have you been able to get it to work now?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azakem
post Jan 14 2005, 03:01 PM
Post #10


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 15-May 04
Member No.: 2,960



It works now, something fishy happened when I transferred my backups onto my hard drive yesterday. Thanks for the help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 12:00 PM