Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Install Help, SATA Problems
usrDaemon
post Jan 11 2005, 05:52 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 11-January 05
Member No.: 4,481



I know chance is this has been covered. I have a Intel mother board running SuSE. I have no problems with SATA. I can run Mandrake, RH or even FC#. My friend has a Chaintech 7NJS Ultra and I can not seem to get the .... thing to install. Just wonted to know if any of you had luck w/a nForce II board. I used Mandrake 10.1. I think I will end up doing SuSE but he would like Mdk 10.1 if possable. Thank you,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 11 2005, 06:19 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



First thing to check is if you have the latest BIOS installed for the board ...

According to what I read, the SATA drives are detected as sda/sdb instead of hda/hbd with mandrake 10.1 ... but SATA should work without the need to add special drivers with the 2.6.x kernel series (as should the sound and network card).


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
usrDaemon
post Jan 11 2005, 06:28 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 11-January 05
Member No.: 4,481



Thank you for the reply. He has the latest BIOS. I found the problem was the partition table lay out. It keed telling me that it was corrupted and could not go on. It was seeing the Win drivers first and could not read them. I swaped the RAID w/a IDE to boot Win on and changed linux to RAID 0+1. Thank you for the reply. It has been a long day at work. I hope I may lend a hand when some one needs it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 01:06 PM