Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mount A Tape Drive
ckwong
post Jan 8 2005, 08:00 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 4,457



Anyone know howto mount a tape drive from RedHat AS3 on a 810 iSeries machine?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 8 2005, 09:38 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Tape drives are not mounted. They are character devices and the application reads the data from the tape like a regular file.

What are you trying to accompilish? What type of tape drive i.e. make/model.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckwong
post Jan 9 2005, 01:17 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 4,457



I forgot the model but it is a 30GB QIC tape drive (60GB with typical 2x compression).
So how do you list the file in the QIC tape? ls command? which directory should I go?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 9 2005, 08:24 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



I assume this is a working unit?
Do you know what backup program was used?

There isn't a directory associated with a tape drive. You need to read the tape but without knowing the tape format just determining the contents can be difficult.

Without knowing the details I would guess tape device is either /dev/ht0 or /dev/st0. Is there any other information you can provide?

I am also unfamiler with a 810 iSeries machine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckwong
post Jan 9 2005, 07:44 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 4,457



The model for the tape drive is 4584. I'm not sure what kind of backup program they used, because my part only installed the Linux partition on the 810 machine.

So I have to mount all the drive for them. Let's say there are some objects or tar files in the tape and I would like to view it. How can I do so?

Btw, did you have any experience on the vncserver? I tried it on a PC connect to the Linux partition and it worked succesfully but the screen is quite jerky. Do you know how can I solve it? Or do I need to upgrade the vnc package?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 9 2005, 09:17 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



VNC has always worked well enough so I have never had to worry about tweaking it.

Assuming the tape drive device is /dev/st0
tar -tvf /dev/st0

If /dev/st0 fails try /dev/ht0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 10 2005, 11:30 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



VNC needs quite a lot of resources, mainly becuase it is essentially taking screenshots and sending them across the network. Check your NIC speed, and maybe check you have enough free resources on the server.

There are other ways to get linux programs to show up on a Windows workstation, thanks to the modularioty of the X server.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckwong
post Jan 10 2005, 07:23 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 4,457



I will give it a try. Thanks for the help guys...!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vfarias
post Jan 26 2005, 12:02 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 26-January 05
Member No.: 4,586



Hi guys,

i'm a newbie on linux and i hope i'm not off topic, but i have a DLT HP C5683A in st0 and i try to make the tar -tvf /dev/st0 and after that it came up with an error that said:

tar: /dev/st0: cannot read: Cannot allocate memory
tar: At beggining of tape, quitting now
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

and i know that my server recognizes the tape device, because i run # cat /proc/scsi/scsi and it gives the attached devices, and if i make scsi_info /dev/st0 he gives me the scsi ID ("0,3,0"), the model ("HP C5683A") and firmware revision ("C305")...

So i really wanted to know how to put this tape working... can you guys help me?

Thkz

Valério
Portugal

p.s. by the way what is the backup software that you guys recommend... i'll will probably try ArcServe for Linux but i'm open to a good and simple to install software...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 02:25 PM