Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fstab Error, FSTAB ERROR
andy1974
post Jan 7 2005, 10:45 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



HELP!!!!!!....... My server wont boot....it starts to boot then stops at this error.....

WARNING: bad format on line 14 of /etc/fstab
fsck.ext3: no such file or directory while trying to open /dev/hdd1

I can log in as root ......but i dont know how to edit FSTAB in the console to remove line 14...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cowdudy
post Jan 8 2005, 01:20 AM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 8-January 05
From: Scio, Oregon
Member No.: 4,455



Login as root, and use your editor.
TYPE: vi /etc/fstab

then press enter. Are you sure the hard drive is working? Make sure it is listed in the bios with the proper
parameters.


--------------------
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.
- Confucius

Anyone who can walk to the welfare office can walk to work.
- Al Cappone

Steven M. Brigger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 8 2005, 07:47 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Futhermore:
Use the cursor to move down to the line 14
Press the insert key and type in a #. This will convert line 14 to being just a comment.
Press the Esc key.
To save and exit vi enter the following.
:wq

Now post line 14. There coud be other issues.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post Jan 8 2005, 12:39 PM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



ok thanks
it worked
i had to redo line 14 after a kernal upgrade
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
beltucadros
post Jan 9 2005, 12:27 PM
Post #5


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 28-September 04
From: Buffalo
Member No.: 3,855



I'm having a "simillar" problem. My usb flash drive udes to be /dev/sda1, but since a kernel upgrade there is no /dev/sda1, or any sda*'s at all. I upgraded from 2.4.* to 2.6.10 I know 2.6 changed the usb interfcae but i don't know where to find it.


--------------------
"And we were differant, just like all the other kids."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 9 2005, 02:28 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Get root access (su -) then run the following

CODE
tail -f /var/log/messages


Then plugin your drive, and see what it says, if anything... Post the output here

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
beltucadros
post Jan 9 2005, 05:22 PM
Post #7


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 28-September 04
From: Buffalo
Member No.: 3,855



Jan 9 17:20:32 argona kernel: usb 1-4: new high speed USB device using address5
Jan 9 17:20:32 argona kernel: uba: device 5 capacity nsec 506880 bsize 512
Jan 9 17:20:32 argona kernel: uba: uba1
Jan 9 17:20:33 argona usb.agent[14478]: ... no modules for USB product 5dc/a400/100
Jan 9 17:20:34 argona udev[14523]: creating device node '/dev/uba1'
Jan 9 17:20:34 argona udev[14522]: creating device node '/dev/uba'

i tried using uba1 instead of sda1 i got an error the first time i tried but it seems ok now
thanks


--------------------
"And we were differant, just like all the other kids."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 11:16 PM