Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Microsoft Windows, can i run it from linux.
spudgunjake
post Jan 5 2005, 08:59 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 5-January 05
Member No.: 4,437



I need to use windows xp, i want to do this via linux, can anyone tell me how to do it.

i have linux red hat or suse 9.2 on one drive and xp on another. but i would like to run xp straight from linux.


please help.

john.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 5 2005, 09:25 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



You could get an emulator, but the good ones are expensive, and the free ones are damn-near impssible to setup and get working... It wll also run about 1/3 of the speed it would runon it's own. It probably isnt worth it, but if you are interested try www.vmware.com for information about their Virtual Machine (emulator) software.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spudgunjake
post Jan 5 2005, 03:42 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 5-January 05
Member No.: 4,437



tx for the reply,

I have amd 64bit 3200 + 2 raided sata drives, with gforce 5900xt, 1gb

i installed red hat se, how can i tell if its 64 bit version.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 5 2005, 04:13 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Unless you donwloaded/purchased the version for 64-bit processors, then it will be 32-bit

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Jan 25 2005, 10:44 AM
Post #5


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



I think that you can install windows xp rigth into wine. I use suse linux 9.2 pro and I was able to run the windows xp setup program rigth in wine. Try It


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jan 25 2005, 10:53 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



No, you can't install Windows XP through Wine, that's not what wine does. Wine is just a compatibility layer, not an emulator (hense the name, WINE=Wine Is Not (an) Emulator)

As far as I know, you can download a trial version from VMware, and use that for 30 days (although, my trial version has never expired). If you like it, then you can purchase it, this is the only real reliable way of running XP from within Linux.

Vice-versa is a bit easier, due to the open nature of linux, you can actually run it from within Windows by either using an implementation like Cygwin, or using a native linux version called "CoLinux".


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Jan 26 2005, 10:03 AM
Post #7


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



I mean that I have got an upgrade version of windows XP to run in wine. Maybe it was a freak thing like once in a life time but I swear it ran and let the install take place. As I know that wine is special for each version of linux could the suse linux version of wine have an ability maybe others don't or could have just been a one shoot deal. If it was a deal then I take back my old statement but it did run for me and I think I could get it to happen again under the rigth circumstance.
Okay if windows can't install under wine can it install under cedega? I know it only adds Directx compat to wine but hay I could try. The comment about using VMware, I know on VMware 4.0.5 that windows would install and run but I could never get any games to work or some times software would go down. Did the new version of VMware fix this problem.


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 26 2005, 12:21 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



The install will run, but Windows wont. You can run the isntall program from inside a real copy of windows, but you cant run Windows from inside Windows.


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jan 27 2005, 08:49 AM
Post #9


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Cedega = WineX

It is not an emulator, but it *can* emulate DirectX.

If you want to run 2 operating systems at the same time, do it the other way. Install XP, and run Linux on that. =)


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 27 2005, 11:20 AM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Although by running Linux inside windows, you lose most of the benefits. eg - You can still tet all manner of viruses without doing anything, and the reliability is only as good as XP.


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jan 27 2005, 04:54 PM
Post #11


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



QUOTE (DS2K3 @ Jan 27 2005, 11:20 AM)
Although by running Linux inside windows, you lose most of the benefits. eg - You can still tet all manner of viruses without doing anything, and the reliability is only as good as XP.

On the other hand, he'll be able to run the applications he needs (which I assume is why he wants to run windows, and not use the programs through wine). smile.gif


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2017 - 07:56 AM