Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Please Help!, removing redhat
ksm211
post Jan 2 2005, 06:50 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 2-January 05
Member No.: 4,423



Hey, I have a problem that I do not know how to approach at all. I currently have 2 hard drives in my pc. One has windows and other has redhat9. I installed redhat because I wanted to get familiar with linux, im very much interested. But i cant seem to do much with redhat because i cannot get the internet to work, everyone tells me to get slackware or mandrake, so i would like to remove redhat and install a different distro, but i do not know how to remove it. When i boot my pc i have a grub loader with the redhat logo asking me to choose windows or redhat. How would i remove redhat and install a different distro, if so, which one?

Thanks for taking your time to read this.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jan 2 2005, 07:45 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

well you have 2 choices (as far as I can tell) :

1. just boot the computer with the Slacware 10.1 (I think this is the latest) cd, and remove all the linux partitions and create new ones , then modify the grub boot loader by removing red hat from the options that's it.

2. insert a windows boot cd and type fdisk /mbr , that way grub will not show up, and you can install the other distro by removing the linux drives (formating em) again.


Better options would be :

Mandrake Linux
Fedora Core 3
Suse Linux 9.1

Slackware is kinda harder...

But it's your decision

Sincerely
Robert B

ps.: Red Hat 9 is seriously outdated... chances are you will have a higher success ratio with a more recent distro


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ksm211
post Jan 2 2005, 07:52 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 2-January 05
Member No.: 4,423



i have 2 hard drives though, windows and redhat are on seperate hds.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jan 2 2005, 04:57 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

that aint changing to much, you probably installed linux on the second hard drive and windows on the first one.

use the same methods as above to solve the problem.


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 2 2005, 06:11 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Just install mandrake over the top, it should figure out where RedHat is, and overwrite it all for you

I wouldnt recccomend Fedora, mainly because the package manager is crappy (no search function, or ability to install just a library) and because they removed all MPEG (eg MP3, MP4) support, citing legal reasons

Mandrake 10.1 is quite nice, and the inswtall is very straightforward. Also, the configuration tools are excellent, no text-file editing required

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dishawjp
post Jan 4 2005, 01:49 PM
Post #6


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 8-April 04
Member No.: 2,734



Ksm211,

The advice the others gave you is fine. Somewhere during the install, during the disk partitioning process, you will be asked where to install your new disrto. Point to the correct hard drive(s) and tell it to "remove all Linux partitions." That will remove the RH9 install and use the space it had for the new install.

But the bigger question is why you were unable to access the internet with RH9. Although RH9 is a bit old, it should have been able to detect and configure your interface (ethernet, modem, whatever). If it couldn't, then there's a chance that whatever you decide to install will also not be able to automatically configure your interface.

You wouldn't be trying to connect to the internet with a winmodem, would you? Have you checked all the other options needed to set up an internet connection, like setting DHCP and etc.?

If you've already gone through all this, and troubleshot your original RH9 install, then sorry, just go ahead. But if you're new to Linux and maybe haven't properly configured RH, you may run into the same problem again.

Just my $.02

Jim Dishaw


--------------------
Registered Linux User 294493
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 5 2005, 09:19 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Mandrake has support for Winmodems, so maybe that will help. I have had network problems in mandrake, that were fixed when i switch the system to Fedora, and vice versa

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 05:23 AM