Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Md5sum Problem
JamesTKirk
post Jan 1 2005, 02:43 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 24-September 04
Member No.: 3,836



I use a md5summer windows GUI utility to check out the status for the linux distribution I like. The problem is, all the distrobution sites I go to, The md5summer says all the distribution failed.... Now I am getting a little irritated. What can be this problem? Is it the md5 program, is it windows, is it the distribution site? Where can I get a working distribution??????? I wasted so many CD's and DVD's already...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 1 2005, 02:48 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



You shouldnt have wasted CDs and DVDs, because you should check the MD5-Sum of the ISO BEFORE you burn it to the CD.

What did you use to download the files? Some download managers make a bit of a hash of big files

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JamesTKirk
post Jan 1 2005, 02:52 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 24-September 04
Member No.: 3,836



I use http sites Ftp sites and Bittorrent sites. I learned my lesson about burning the iso before checking the md5sum, but all the time with either fedora or mandrake the md5sum always fail
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 1 2005, 02:54 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



DId you use internet explorer to download them via http/ftp or a more specialised downloading utility?


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JamesTKirk
post Jan 1 2005, 03:17 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 24-September 04
Member No.: 3,836



I used the internet explorer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 2 2005, 08:42 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



I dont think Internet Explorer is up to the Job - You would probably be better off using proper FTP software, such as FileZilla (filezilla.sourceforge.net)

Put the address off the server into the relevtant box (ONLY THE SERVER ie - If the file is at ftp://ftp.big-server.com/linux/mandrake/10.1/cd1.iso, only put ftp.big-server.com into the box. Either select the anonymous option, or set the user name to anonymous and then use your email address as your password. NAvigate to the correct directory on the server (the right-hand panel) and the place you want to store the file on your computer (the lef-hand box) and then drag-and-drop the iso images over

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JamesTKirk
post Jan 3 2005, 11:57 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 24-September 04
Member No.: 3,836



well actually i can get into the fedora installation. the thing is It will not install. maybe it is a hard drive failure because the errors that i get are

assertion ( heads < 256) at disk-dos.c: 486 in function prob_partition_for_geom() failed.

and

assertion (( C* heads + H) * sectors + S == A) at disk_dos.c:495 in function prob_partition_for_geom() failed.

from there it reboots the system.

So Far I had used FujiFilm dvd, Liteon dvd, and memorex cd's. no use..... sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 4 2005, 12:08 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Try using the utilty that coems on CD1 which checks the CDs are OK - It should run before the actual installation program

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
masterb
post Jan 25 2005, 03:11 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 4,580



Your images are fine. There is a bug in the ISO's. You will need to download an update image and write that to floppy. You can then use this floppy with your CD/DVD.

Try the update image at
http://people.redhat.com/~katzj/fc3-part-upd.img

(Instructions for using an update disk are available at
http://rhlinux.redhat.com/anaconda/updatedisks.html

Here's the link to the bug at bugzilla: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_b...g.cgi?id=138419
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 11:14 PM