Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Boot Error
Chen-Zhen
post Dec 25 2004, 12:45 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-December 04
From: Rome, Italy
Member No.: 4,383



Hi everyone, I'm a supermega newbie who knows little if not nothing about pcs and Operative systems. That said, I have the following problem: yesterday I bought a Serial Ata Hard Disk (that'll be the third hd I have on my pc). After disconnecting the other 2 hds and installing Mandrake linux 10.1, I reconnected the other 2 hds (1 with Suse 8.0 and one with Windows Xp). Unfortunately I haven't eversince been able to boot again Windows Xp as everytime I try to, I get a message which tells me something like: "Boot Error, it's impossible to launch you O.S.". I have also tried to mount my Windows hd on Mandrake but it has all been unsuccessful. I am very confused since before the error ocurred I hadn't been messing with partitions or anything. I'm really desperate because I have a lot of crucial data on that HD so I really need to find a way to recover the data in one way or another. I would be extremely grateful if anyone could help me (and possibly using a non too specific kind of language as I wouldn' t be able to understand it).
Thanks to everyone.


--------------------
To widen your view to hundreds of miles,
Come to the upper storey by climbing one more flight

"On the Stork Tower” by Wang Zhihuan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Dec 25 2004, 03:08 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



hmmm - It is customary to leave other HDs plugged in when adding a new OS - that way it gets the drive assignmetns right. Mandrake hasa nice partition wizard in the installation, so it wont overwrite anything you dont tell it to.

Try reinstalling without unplugging the old HDs

Merry Christmas

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chen-Zhen
post Dec 26 2004, 09:50 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-December 04
From: Rome, Italy
Member No.: 4,383



I know it might sound a stupid question but if I re-install Mandrake, won't I lose all my data on the new HD?


--------------------
To widen your view to hundreds of miles,
Come to the upper storey by climbing one more flight

"On the Stork Tower” by Wang Zhihuan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Dec 27 2004, 11:52 AM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



May I ask why you would remove the other hard drives, install an os, and them put them back in? smile.gif

Windows will not boot because it no longer sees itself as Drive C:

Windows is a bit bitchy, and *needs* to be C:

I'd suggest you put it back how it was (primary master? secondary master?), while keeping the other hard drives in.

Otherwise, you might have to reinstall windows (not linux).


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 08:36 AM