Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> X Runs At Start-up, And I'd rather it not
Dpaladin
post Dec 18 2004, 12:15 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 12-August 04
Member No.: 3,542



I'm using Debian "Sarge" with XFree86 and GNOME.

Also, I've got a Microsoft Intellimouse (with 4 buttons and a wheel). How do I configure X (I'm assuming) to use the two side buttons for Back and Forward in Mozilla Firefox (like in Windows).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 18 2004, 02:18 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Ok, well to stop X from running at start up this is what you need to do. Open you /etc/inittab file in an editor and change the following line from

id:5:initdefault:

to

id:3:initdefault:

Then x wont start at boot.

As for the mouse thing, I really wish I had an answer to that because I have the same mouse more or less and can't get it to work. So.... Maybe somebody esle knows.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dpaladin
post Dec 18 2004, 03:04 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 12-August 04
Member No.: 3,542



QUOTE (Jim @ Dec 18 2004, 02:18 PM)
Ok, well to stop X from running at start up this is what you need to do. Open you /etc/inittab file in an editor and change the following line from

id:5:initdefault:

to

id:3:initdefault:

Then x wont start at boot.

As for the mouse thing, I really wish I had an answer to that because I have the same mouse more or less and can't get it to work. So.... Maybe somebody esle knows.

It's id:2:initdefault: on mine. Change it anyway?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 18 2004, 03:50 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Ya


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th October 2017 - 05:13 PM