Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How Do I Access Windows Partition
mjh56
post Dec 13 2004, 05:10 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 13-December 04
Member No.: 4,331



I have just installed Redhat on dual booy, how do i access my files in the Windows partition from Linux?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 13 2004, 05:32 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



if your windows partition is fat32 you just need a simple mount command.

First make a place to mount it mkdir /mnt/windows

then mount it mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows that is asuming that your windows drive is the first partition on your primary drive, if it isn't, you will need to make the nessicary changes.

If your drive is NTFS, it gets a little more complicated and you will need to install the NTFS tools needed to read the format.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mjh56
post Dec 14 2004, 07:00 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 13-December 04
Member No.: 4,331



Thanks Jim, but as you might guess it is NTFS, can u point me at anywhere wehre i can get detailed intructions - cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Dec 14 2004, 07:18 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



To add NTFS read support without recompiling the kernel.
http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/

or

http://www.jankratochvil.net/project/captive/

Never have used captive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 14 2004, 11:57 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Might I make a suggestion before you get in to deap here. RedHat is dead, they are no longer releasing security updates or bug fixes for it. No new features or up-grades are comming out. Might I suggest you take a look at Fedora for the simple reason that updates and supports are still comming out. Fedora doesn't have built in NTFS support either because it is based in the US and NTFS is pattented, but it can also be added, usually with more success than RedHat.

By no means am I telling you that you have to switch, just that it might be a good idea to consider before you get yourself to settled in. If you have any more questions, please ask.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
beltucadros
post Dec 16 2004, 12:47 AM
Post #6


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 28-September 04
From: Buffalo
Member No.: 3,855



depends on what red hat you are using if you are on fedora they have security and/or kernel updates nearly every week


--------------------
"And we were differant, just like all the other kids."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 16 2004, 12:58 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Thats why I suggested Fedora. Red Hat usually referes to, well, Red Hat. There are really three products that the compony Red Hat puts out. Red Hat Enterprise, Fedora Core, and Red Hat. Red Hat has stoped making updates for Red Hat and only updates Fedora Core and RHE. Thats why I recomend using Fedora Core* if you want to use a Red Hat Product.

*unless its a server, then use a RHE clone like WhiteBox or CentOS


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2017 - 02:02 AM