Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fedora/xp Partition Help
crash_systems
post Dec 4 2004, 11:50 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 4-December 04
Member No.: 4,283



I recently set up a dual boot with xp/fedora core 3 (which was much easyer than I thought). Both OS's work fine, but I'm trying to make a third and forth partiton that can be used by both Os's. Is there any free partition utility that can do this? I would prefer not to have to re-install ether OS if possible. Thanks for your help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 5 2004, 02:36 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Are you trying to set up a new partition from un-partitioned space or bite off a junk of the existing partitions?

If its unpartitioned space both windows or linux could make a fat32 partition you could use from both linux and windows.

If its already partitioned, there isn't anything thats free that I know of that can do it.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
crash_systems
post Dec 5 2004, 09:53 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 4-December 04
Member No.: 4,283



The space I used was un-partitioned, and I created the partitions with disk druid in the Fedora setup. I thought that fat32 would work, but my xp partition is fat32, and I can't open it from linux. It just says something about not being mounted.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Dec 5 2004, 11:07 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



If your XP partition is FAT32 then it should be simple to mount it.
Create a directory to use as a mount point. Need to be logged in a root.
mkdir /media/xp
chmod 777 /media/xp

Add entry to /etc/fstab:
/dev/hda1 /media/xp vfat users,umask=000 0 0

I assume that XP is installed at hda1. Be sure to change the commands if it is otherwise. The partition will automatically be mounted at boot, to mount it now:
mount /media/xp

To see how the drive is partitioned:
fdisk -l /dev/hda

Even though you might have unallocated space you might not be able to create additional partitions. Post the results of fdisk.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
crash_systems
post Dec 5 2004, 02:21 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 4-December 04
Member No.: 4,283



Ok, I'm not sure what some of those lines ment, but I remembered that when I right-click the drive in fedora, it gives the option to mount. There are two partitions listed in the file explorer, the first one saying "hard drive" and the second (the working one) says "hard drive (hda2)." When I tell it to mount the one that it is not reading, it says it can't because, "Hard drive already mounted on /". Any idea what that means? By the way, in case you haven't noticed, I'm REALLY new to Fedora.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 5 2004, 03:57 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Here, read the first part of this, it will give you a quick crash corse in how drive structures work in linux.

Creating A Linux Drive

hda2 is your "linux drive" at it is mounted at the point /. hda1 is your winodws drive, and you have to mount it somewhere in the file tree to access it. You can mount it anywhere you want. I mount mine right into my home folder, so I can get to my window's files from /home/jim/windows.

Do you understand how names are assigned to drives? If not, here is a quick crash course. All devices, hard drive, keyboards, mouses, USB, everything are assinged a /dev/something address. So hard drives start with hd So an hard drive will be at /dev/hd__ the last letter and number are what specify which drive it is. The letter a-d go from your primary drive on IDE0 to your slave on IDE1. So the drive plugged into your slave slot on your master IDE cable is hdb Then, the number tells the computer which partition.

So in your case, both your linux and windows partitions are on hda, or your primary drive on IDE0. Your linux drive is mounted automatically at boot up. But your windows drive is only mounted when you tell it to.

Changes to how, when, and were your windows drive mount can be achived by editing your /etc/fstab file. Be careful, I would advise in your case asking us for a little help before you make any changes you may want to make.

Hope that clears some things up for you. Don't feel bad about being a new. We were all there ounce, and this forum prides its self on being a place thats very friendly to new linux users. Feel free to come back and ask any questions, no matter how simple you think it is. Its better to get the right answer, than screw something up, either way, your probably gonna end up making a post.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2017 - 09:48 AM