Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kill Command, Killing more then one process
DeadSet
post Dec 1 2004, 09:16 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-December 04
Member No.: 4,257



Hi guys

I hope that someone can assist me with something.

I need a command to kill a lot op processes created with apache without restarting apache.
I know that you can kill one process at a time with the following command: kill PID

is there a way that I can kill processes that has been started before a specified time?
Anything will help other then killing them 1 by 1 ??

Thanks
DeadSet
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Dec 1 2004, 10:08 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

there is
CODE
killall processname


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xIIx
post Dec 2 2004, 12:22 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 14
Joined: 4-July 03
Member No.: 1,051



for apache... killall httpd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Dec 2 2004, 06:21 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Since all processes (that I know about) started by apache are called httpd so
killall httpd
will stop apache completely which I guess isn't what you want. When apache is started its pid is saved in a file which will indicate the time but not the others. You can limit the number of processes apache starts via the httpd.conf file. Or am I completely off base.

So what is the problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 12:02 AM