Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Gxine And Asp Files, gxine recognizes asp but won't play
raysr
post Nov 26 2004, 08:46 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 4,234



I have gxine 3.3-4mdk installed on my dual boot XP-MDK 9.2 OS. I downloaded it from an rpm. I have Opera 7.60 TP2 installed. I can't get gxine to play windows asf files, even though they're listed in the plugin. Gxine will launch, load up 60%, and buffer to 16% and freeze. Here's one site http://blog.radioleft.com/. I works fine on pls and mpeg and others. I know the usual response I get is to use mplayer, but I have tried it many times and it just won't work on my OS, freezes. I would certainly appreciate any help with getting gxine to work. Thanks in advance. That's "asf" files, made a mistake in my subject line.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Nov 27 2004, 08:22 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



You need the "win32-codecs" pakcage installed. You can get all the latest xine rpms (including win32 codec support, and dvd descrmalbing) from http://cambuca.ldhs.cetuc.puc-rio.br/xine/

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raysr
post Nov 27 2004, 05:13 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 4,234



Thanks for the reply. How do I link gxine to the win codecs? I have found that since I posted that "gxine" will play "asp and asf" w/o win 32 codecs. I was having an overall sound problem that was cured by reinstalling the OS (MDK 9.2)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Nov 28 2004, 09:30 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



The rpm should set it up for you


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raysr
post Nov 28 2004, 02:40 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 4,234



The Win32 Codec installed in /usr/lib but still no go on that mentioned site, other asf sites will play but there are two that won't. I installed Kaffeine to see if that made any difference but it does the same thing. It's odd that it will hook up to it, obviously recognising the file but won't play.http://airamericaradio.com/ this is the other one I can't get on the windows platform. Real works fine. By the way, how come kaffeine doesn't have a plugin, re: gxine-gxineplugin.so? My version of gxine (rpm) has only the .so plugin not the .la and .a. Thanks again for the reply.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 05:46 PM