Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Need Help With Nforce M/b With Onboard Nic
azzam
post Nov 26 2004, 02:30 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 4,230



I'm completely new with Linux, so please be patient with me smile.gif

I have an nforce 2 motherboard, and want to get the onboard NIC working. Currently I have an Intel 100 Pro nic in the PCI that was detected and setup fine. I plan on using this as a gateway/server, so need dual NICs. I've installed Debian.

After a couple of days of stuffing around, I have successfully compiled a new kernel using 2.6.9 source, and using the kernel option for the nforce NIC, but have no idea what to do next.

How can I confirm if the nforce NIC has been detected, or do I have to install some sort of driver for it? How do I go about configuring it, as the Intel NIC was easy to configure using the initial Debian installer?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Nov 28 2004, 11:51 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I also have a NVIDIA m/b with on-board nic so I should be able to help you out. Upgrading the kernel was the right thing to do. Make sure that you are using that kernel when you boot up. If you aren't sure, just run the command unamre -r

As for seeing if the nic is there. Run the command lspci -vb it will print out all the "hardware" on your system, including the on-board stuff. It should show up, if it doesn't, we can work from there.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clokwurk
post Dec 1 2004, 11:02 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 30-November 04
Member No.: 4,253



a simple ifconfig at command line should bring up all nics and coresponding info.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 1 2004, 12:15 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



ifconfig will only work if they are configured proporely, lspci will kick them out no matter what (more or less.)


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 12:06 PM