Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installing Another Distro On A Xandros Box, installing another distro on a xandros b
abulia
post Nov 17 2004, 10:32 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 17-November 04
Member No.: 4,191



I have a box with only Xandros installed. I want to install Ubuntu -- I'd prefer to have dual boot, but right now I wouldn't mind replacing Xandros with Ubuntu. The problem is that when I put the Ubuntu install CD in and boot (with a boot order of floppy, CD-ROM, HDD1), the Xandros install screens comes up... I'm confused. Any suggestions? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Nov 17 2004, 11:53 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



There is probably something wrong with your CD. I asume you downloaded an ISO image? Did you check the md5sum? If you didn't do that, if it was correct, burn a new copy, and if it still happens, then we know its something else wiered. But my guess, its a bad burn or a bad ISO.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Nov 18 2004, 09:30 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



The Xandros install screen? So, you're not getting the regular Xandros boot loader?

The only explnation for this that i can think of , is that you've left the Xandros install cd's in one of your cdroms. I can't see any other reason why the install screen would come up.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
abulia
post Nov 22 2004, 06:34 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 17-November 04
Member No.: 4,191



Jim and Corey,
Thanks for your help. The issue here was that oh so common problem: user error. I burned a Xandros install iso when I meant to burn an Ubuntu install iso. I neatly labeled the CD with the Ubuntu logo and everything, which made it less likely for me to realize that that might not be what was actually on the disc. When I put it in my Xandros box, I thought Xandros was taking over. Silly me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Nov 23 2004, 01:01 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



It happens to all of us smile.gif


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 01:22 PM