Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pleas Help New User, Linux 7.2
alev
post Nov 10 2004, 12:12 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 10-November 04
Member No.: 4,144



Hi
I am realy new to this .
I just install redhat 7.2 and I am lost
System bootup to GUI interface twice and now it loadin text format
How do I swithc back to GUI

and Second OS recognized my NIC however I cannot see machine on network


Thanx in advance


Lev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Nov 10 2004, 05:29 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,796
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Did you change anything?
Something might be corrupted. Log in and then type in the command startx at the prompt. Post the errors if any.

What is the rest of the network? What are the other PCs. Any routers connected?
If you want windows PCs to have access then you will need to install samba if not already so.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Nov 10 2004, 07:21 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Ya, Michael is right, type in Startx and post any errors you get. If you don't get any errors and your GUI starts up right, check your /etc/inittab file and make sure the line is

id:5:initdefault:

The key part being a 5 not a 3. If it is a three, just simply change it to a 5 and you will be ready to rock again.

As far as the nic card, when you say it recognized it, you mean you can get on-line right? And than what do you mean you "cannot see" the machine. From a windows "My Network Places" or from a network map or something like that?

7.2 wont by default be configured to hop on a samba network, your going to have to do that yourself.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 03:33 PM