Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Samba Problems
Stevey_G
post Nov 9 2004, 01:48 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Yet again I have problems with samba! Nothing is ever straightforward... now, I have configured samba so that each user has a samba username the same as their windows username, even with the same password. However, when I double clikc the machine in My Network Places, it gives me a username prompt, and no matter what user/password combo I use it will not let me in Help!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Nov 9 2004, 03:30 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



hI,

make sure that in global section

security = user

and under the share


valid users = (a user name that you added with smbpasswd -a user_name)

Sincerely
Robert B

ps.: if you enter the password incorrectly or the user name , try logging out with windows and logging in again... (XP with SP2 did this thing to me...but was solved)


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Nov 10 2004, 09:10 AM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Ok... Cheers for that mate seems to be working ok now. However, I have a few other subtle problems. For some reason, I can now only see this machine(king-size) on the network. I cant see the the linux box or any other machine? Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Nov 10 2004, 09:19 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

CODE
rpm -q samba-client samba-common


these are installed right?

if not

apt-get update
apt-get install samba-client samba-common

or

yum install samba-client samba-common

in [global] section
workgroup = *must be the same workgroup as the rest in order to be able to view em*
(type UPERCASE...don't know but for some reason I had problems with some versions if I typed it lowercase...)

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Nov 11 2004, 06:23 AM
Post #5


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



I beleive those are installed yes, heres my smb.conf file smb.conf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 01:58 PM