Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help! --> Lilo Keytable Read/checksum Error
aufkes
post Nov 1 2004, 09:02 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-November 04
Member No.: 4,081



Hello to all and hope somebody can help me.

First of all I must tell you that I'm new on linux (about only a moth and a half).
I installed on my laptop WXP and Suse 9.1, and this afternoon I have updated the linux system using Yast Online Update (YOU) utility, in order to update the system and the kernel. The problem is that after booting the system I get this error message:

Lilo keytable read/checksum error

I think I forgot to rerun lilo before booting and after YOU finished upgrading the system, and because of that I can't run neither or the operating systems.

Is there anything I can do to recover my system? I have the originals CD of Suse and WXP. If I boot the PC from the Suse CD, I have the following options:
1 - Boot from Hard Disk
2 - Installation
3 - Installation - ACPI Disabled
4 - Installation - Safe Settings
5 - Manual Installation
6 - Rescure System
7 - Memory Test

I have tried the rescure option, "login" as root, but it seem to me that I'm reading from the CD, not from the linux partition on the Hard disk, because I can't find the lilo.conf, and my own folders and files. On the other hand, if I use the 2 option (Installation), the Yast Installation Settings on partitioning sections shows me these messages:

- Format Partition /dev/hda2 14.1 GB (for / with reiser)
- Format Partition /dev/hda3 502.0 MB (for swap)
- Set mount point of /dev/hda1 to /windows/C
- Set mount point of /dev/hda5 to /windows/D

What does it means? Is that I'll lose all the data in my linux partition?

I hope you can help me to solve my problem. Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Nov 2 2004, 10:26 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



When you boot to the rescue option you are reading from the CD. But you can use the mount command to get to your files. So to get to your lilo.conf file do this.

cd /mnt
mkdir system
mount /dev/hda2 system


That will mount your file system in and than you can have access to your files and do what ever you need.

I am not so sure its just a conf error though. You may need to re-install lilo. Try to make sure you lilo.conf file is correct first, and if you can't get it, we can help you through a lilo re-install if you need help.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 11:13 AM