Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How Can I Access My Windows Partition?, I have a dual boot setup...
Wheelman2004
post Nov 1 2004, 09:01 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-November 04
Member No.: 4,080



Ok, I'm using Fedora Core 2, and in order to get my printer and winmodem to work, I need to access my Windows partition on my main hard drive. I've tried the MOUNT command, but I must be doing something wrong, as I'm fairly new to Linux. Apparently, Linux can't recognize the NTFS file format, as after entering a correct mount command, it says that the file system type is unrecognizable. The master drive is a 40 GB Western Digital hard drive w/ one NTFS partition containing Win XP (hda). The slave drive is a 4.6 GB Western Digital drive w/ one partition containg Fedora Core 2 (hdb).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Nov 2 2004, 07:36 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



FC does not include NTFS support in its default kernel. Go to the post web site and down load the RPM for FC2. BTW this is read only.

http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/

If you want to share files between the two OS's IMHO your safest choice is to create a FAT32 partition. There is also the captive project but I do not have any experience using it.

http://www.jankratochvil.net/project/captive/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Nov 3 2004, 09:52 AM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



captive uses an existing windows install to handle NTFS writing. (ntfs.sys, and ntoskrnl.exe).

I've used it a bit, and had no problems with it. It seems stable writing/deleting.

It does eat up quite a bit of memory though, so if you're low on ram and you have a large NTFS parition, it isn't for you.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wheelman2004
post Nov 3 2004, 08:34 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-November 04
Member No.: 4,080



QUOTE (Termina @ Nov 3 2004, 09:52 AM)
captive uses an existing windows install to handle NTFS writing. (ntfs.sys, and ntoskrnl.exe).

I've used it a bit, and had no problems with it. It seems stable writing/deleting.

It does eat up quite a bit of memory though, so if you're low on ram and you have a large NTFS parition, it isn't for you.

Gah... I only have 256 MB of RAM, and my NTFS partition is 40 GB. Looks like that counts me out... but thanks for the suggestion anyways! I guess I'll have to wait until Christmas when my total amount of RAM is raised to 512 MB...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 06:20 PM