Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kde Issue
mdphreak27
post Oct 25 2004, 01:56 PM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



its a minor problem, but it gets annoying. When I click on the maximize button and the window takes up the whole screen as it should, but when I click the button again it doesn't restore it back to its original size. its worse now though, because I finally have the twinview working and some windows open anlready maximized making it imposiple to move them to the other screen. I have tried checking the window behavior in the "configure your desktop" and looked for anything relevent in the control center but didnt find anything...
BTW im using mandrake 10.1 if that helps
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 26 2004, 01:16 AM
Post #2


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



On KDE's website it lists this bug as resolved. hove do I get a hold of a fix for it???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Oct 26 2004, 08:27 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



It's probably fixed in CVS and will be available in the next release. You will either have to wait until the next release when Mandrake packages are made, or you can install the CVS. I would suggest just waiting until the next release because KDE takes a long time to compile, even on beefy systems.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 27 2004, 06:21 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



obviously, you will need to be installing updates form mandrake to get the fix when it happens.

If you have 10.1 Community, they don't really have the full paths pushed out yet to the mirrors ... and they probably won't get everything squared away with the FTP mirrors until the 10.1 final edition comes out.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mdphreak27
post Oct 27 2004, 11:30 AM
Post #5


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 4-October 04
Member No.: 3,896



well thats not exactly the news i was hoping for, but I guess thats just the way it is. thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 27 2004, 02:34 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



OK ... just for info, the FTP tree is out for Mandrake 10.1 on most of the mirrors (in the official branch), although it does not contain files yet (except the source SRPMS).

If you really MUST update before the final comes out, you can do so like this (from the devel branch):

urpmi.removemedia -a
(that removes all the current sources)

Add the urpmi paths to the 10.1CE paths:
CODE
urpmi.addmedia main http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrakelinux/devel/10.1/i586/media/main with synthesis.hdlist.cz

urpmi.addmedia jpackage http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrakelinux/devel/10.1/i586/media/jpackage with synthesis.hdlist.cz

urpmi.addmedia contrib http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrakelinux/devel/10.1/i586/media/contrib with synthesis.hdlist.cz

urpmi.addmedia updates http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrakelinux/official/updates/10.1/main_updates with media_info/synthesis.hdlist.cz


Then do:

urpmi.update -a
urpmi --auto-select


You will get all the updates execpt the kernel ... to get the kernel, do:

urpmi kernel

and pick the latest .i586 kernel, currently it is:

kernel-2.6.8.1.12mdk-1-1mdk.i586.rpm

(you will have to rebuild the NVIDIA drivers if you install the new kernel).

There are some KDE upgrades in the latest packages (compared to first 10.1CE isos).


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 04:41 AM